## Enrolled Senate Bill 419

Sponsored by Senator BEYER; Senator STEINER HAYWARD, Representatives KENY-GUYER, NOSSE (Presession filed.)

CHAPTER .....

## AN ACT

Relating to hospital charges; and prescribing an effective date.

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. (1) The Task Force on Health Care Cost Review is established.

(2) The task force consists of 17 members as follows:

(a) The President of the Senate shall appoint:

(A) Three members appointed from among members of the Senate; and

(B) Two members of the public with health care experience.

(b) The Speaker of the House of Representatives shall appoint:

(A) Three members appointed from among members of the House of Representatives; and

(B) Two members of the public with health care experience.

(c) The Director of the Oregon Health Authority.

(d) The Director of the Department of Consumer and Business Services.

(e) Four members nominated by a statewide hospital trade association, including at least one member who represents a rural hospital.

(f) The chairperson of the Oregon Health Policy Board.

(3) The task force shall study the feasibility of creating a hospital rate-setting process modeled on the process used by the Health Services Cost Review Commission in Maryland, including but not limited to:

(a) How such a rate-setting process would impact the accessibility and cost of health services currently provided in this state, promote quality care and impact overall medical cost containment;

(b) How a rate-setting process would interact with and impact coordinated care organizations, the Public Employees' Benefit Board, the Oregon Educators Benefit Board, other state programs purchasing health care and other cost containment efforts;

(c) The potential impact on health insurers;

(d) The likely cost of the rate-setting process;

(e) The potential need for and likelihood of obtaining a waiver of Medicare requirements similar to the waiver obtained by the commission in Maryland; and

(f) Why similar efforts to create a hospital rate-setting process in Washington and other states failed, were not implemented or were withdrawn from consideration.

(4) A majority of the members of the task force constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business.

Enrolled Senate Bill 419 (SB 419-A)

(5) Official action by the task force requires the approval of a majority of the members of the task force.

(6) The Director of the Department of Consumer and Business Services shall serve as chairperson.

(7) If there is a vacancy for any cause, the appointing authority shall make an appointment to become immediately effective.

(8) The task force shall meet at times and places specified by the call of the chairperson or of a majority of the members of the task force.

(9) The task force may adopt rules necessary for the operation of the task force.

(10) The task force shall submit a report in the manner provided by ORS 192.245, and may include recommendations for legislation, to the interim committees of the Legislative Assembly related to health no later than September 15, 2018.

(11) The Legislative Policy and Research Director shall provide staff support to the task force.

(12) Members of the task force are not entitled to compensation or reimbursement for expenses and serve as volunteers on the task force.

(13) All agencies of state government, as defined in ORS 174.111, are directed to assist the task force in the performance of the task force's duties and, to the extent permitted by laws relating to confidentiality, to furnish information and advice the members of the task force consider necessary to perform their duties.

SECTION 2. Section 1 of this 2017 Act is repealed on December 31, 2018.

SECTION 3. This 2017 Act takes effect on the 91st day after the date on which the 2017 regular session of the Seventy-ninth Legislative Assembly adjourns sine die.

Passed by Senate July 1, 2017	Received by Governor:
Lori L. Brocker, Secretary of Senate	Approved:
Peter Courtney, President of Senate	
Passed by House July 6, 2017	Kate Brown, Governor
	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:

Tina Kotek, Speaker of House

Dennis Richardson, Secretary of State