House Joint Resolution 17

Sponsored by Representative NOBLE (at the request of A. Richard Vial)

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor's brief statement of the essential features of the measure **as introduced.**

Proposes amendment to Oregon Constitution designating offices of state Senator and state Representative as nonpartisan.

Refers proposed amendment to people for their approval or rejection at next regular general election.

JOINT RESOLUTION

- Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:
- **PARAGRAPH 1.** Section 3, Article IV of the Constitution of the State of Oregon, is amended to read:
- Sec. 3. (1) The offices of senator and representative shall be nonpartisan. The senators and representatives shall be chosen by the electors of the respective counties or districts or subdistricts within a county or district into which the state may from time to time be divided by law.
- (2)(a) If a vacancy occurs in the office of senator or representative from any county or district or subdistrict, the vacancy shall be filled as may be provided by law.
- (b) Except as provided in paragraph (c) of this subsection, a person who is appointed to fill a vacancy in the office of senator or representative must be an inhabitant of the district the person is appointed to represent for at least one year next preceding the date of the appointment.
- (c) For purposes of an appointment occurring during the period beginning on January 1 of the year a reapportionment becomes operative under section 6 of this Article, the person must have been an inhabitant of the district for one year next preceding the date of the appointment or from January 1 of the year the reapportionment becomes operative to the date of the appointment, whichever is less.

PARAGRAPH 2. The amendment proposed by this resolution shall be submitted to the people for their approval or rejection at the next regular general election held throughout this state.

21 22

1 2

3

4 5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15 16

17

18 19

20