Enrolled

House Concurrent Resolution 31

Sponsored by Representative RAYFIELD, Senator GELSER, Representative OLSON; Representatives CLEM, EVANS, GOMBERG, MCLANE, NEARMAN, READ, WHITSETT, Senators BOQUIST, EDWARDS

Whereas the Oregon State University (OSU) Women's Basketball Team played their first game in 1898 as the Oregon Agricultural College Women's Basketball Team; and

Whereas due to societal pressures of the 1930s, competitive women's sports were discouraged, a circumstance that stifled competition and equity; and

Whereas between 1959 and 1966 OSU women's basketball was a club sport, and the Women's Basketball Team went undefeated playing against other schools in the northwest; and

Whereas in 1972, OSU women's basketball officially became an intercollegiate sport when the Women's Basketball Team became a charter member of the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women; and

Whereas the OSU Women's Basketball Team has produced four All-Americans and two All-American honorable mention players; and

Whereas current head coach Scott Rueck was named John R. Wooden Pacific-12 Coach of the Year for the 2014-2015 season, leading the OSU Women's Basketball Team to a 27-5 record, a record for most wins during a season in the team's history; and

Whereas OSU Women's Basketball Team center Ruth Hamblin was named a third-team All-American by the Associated Press and the Pacific-12 Defensive Player of the Year, and ranked eighth nationally in field goal percentage at 58 percent; and

Whereas six members of the OSU Women's Basketball Team earned Pacific-12 All-Academic honors; and

Whereas the OSU Women's Basketball Team took the Pacific-12 regular season title from the Stanford University Women's Basketball Team, which had taken the title 14 years in a row; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Seventy-eighth Legislative Assembly, commend the exemplary intercollegiate athletic achievements of the Oregon State University Women's Basketball Team, on winning the Pacific-12 regular season championship title and on recording the best season in team history during 2014-2015.

Adopted by House June 4, 2015
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of Hou

Tina Kotek, Speaker of House

Adopted by Senate June 29, 2015

Peter Courtney, President of Senate