Enrolled

House Concurrent Resolution 201

Sponsored by Representative SCHARF, Senator BOQUIST; Representative EVANS (Presession filed.)

Whereas the settlement that became known as Dallas, Oregon, was first settled by pioneers on the north side of Rickreall Creek in the 1840s, and was then known as Cynthian or Cynthiana; and

Whereas the town was renamed Dallas in 1852 as the result of a petition seeking to honor former Vice President of the United States George Mifflin Dallas; and

Whereas Dallas was relocated to the south side of Rickreall Creek, where water was more plentiful, around 1855; and

Whereas in 1865, businesses in the Dallas area consisted of a saw and planing mill, a flour mill, a saddle tree maker, six or seven general stores and the prosperous woolen mill at nearby Ellendale; and

Whereas in 1874, Dallas was incorporated as the Town of Dallas, and its first form of government was established with a five-member board of trustees; and

Whereas at the time of its incorporation, the population of Dallas was less than 600 residents, and it has since grown to nearly 18,000; and

Whereas Dallas' volunteer fire department was established in 1878, and it has been a critical part of the Dallas community ever since; and

Whereas in 1880, the narrow-gauge Oregonian Railway arrived in Dallas; and

Whereas in 1901, Dallas was incorporated as the City of Dallas and adopted a council form of government, with mayors serving two-year terms; and

Whereas Dallas is the county seat of Polk County and is the 19th-oldest incorporated city in Oregon; and

Whereas on Saturday, February 17, 2024, the City of Dallas began a yearlong commemoration of Dallas' significant place in Oregon history by hosting a city-wide celebration featuring a parade, a birthday cake and fun activities for all; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Eighty-second Legislative Assembly, recognize and honor the City of Dallas on the 150th anniversary of its founding, and we celebrate its significant contributions to the State of Oregon.

Adopted by House February 13, 2024
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House
Dan Rayfield, Speaker of House Adopted by Senate February 26, 2024
Rob Wagner President of Senate