## Enrolled

## **House Concurrent Resolution 1**

Sponsored by Representative HUFFMAN, Senator KNOPP, Representative WHISNANT, Senator JOHNSON; Representative MCLANE (Presession filed.)

Whereas the Congressional Medal of Honor is our nation's highest award for valor presented to members of the Armed Forces of the United States for acting above and beyond the call of duty during combat and at the risk of death to oneself; and

Whereas Oregon has been home to 26 Congressional Medal of Honor recipients from the United States Army, United States Army Air Forces, United States Navy and United States Marine Corps who served in eight wars during a period of 108 years beginning with the Civil War and ending with Vietnam; and

Whereas the Oregon Medal of Honor Exhibit at Evergreen Aviation and Space Museum created by the Bend Heroes Foundation in McMinnville honors all 26 recipients in a central location; and

Whereas 26 recipients have resided in, live in or were laid to rest in 12 cities and communities across Oregon; and

Whereas nine recipients were laid to rest in Portland with four interred at the Willamette National Cemetery, which is accessible via Interstate 205; and

Whereas Robert D. Maxwell, a World War II veteran, at 96 years of age is our nation's oldest living Congressional Medal of Honor recipient of all wars, lives in Bend and is the only Congressional Medal of Honor recipient living in Oregon; and

Whereas Oregon's Congressional Medal of Honor recipients are not presently honored by Congressional Medal of Honor markers in their communities; and

Whereas Oregon deeply appreciates the service and sacrifice of its Congressional Medal of Honor recipients and the positive roles they have played in their communities across Oregon for over 100 years; now, therefore,

## Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That Agness, Bend, Corvallis, Eugene, Hood River, Jordan Valley, Medford, Richland, Oakridge, Portland, Salem and The Dalles are designated as "Medal of Honor" communities or cities.

Adopted by House March 2, 2017

Readopted by House May 16, 2017

Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House

Tina Kotek, Speaker of House

Adopted by Senate May 11, 2017

Peter Courtney, President of Senate