House Bill 2846

Sponsored by Representative KENY-GUYER, Senators DEMBROW, FAGAN; Representatives BYNUM, MARSH, NOBLE, NOSSE, POWER, REARDON, SCHOUTEN, Senator MANNING JR

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor's brief statement of the essential features of the measure as introduced.

Directs Director of Transportation to require each region described in Act to conduct jurisdictional transfer evaluation and present report on evaluations to Joint Committee on Transportation no later than September 15, 2020. Sunsets January 2, 2021.

Establishes Oregon Highway Jurisdictional Transfer Fund for purpose of paying costs to upgrade and transfer jurisdiction of highways.

Takes effect on 91st day following adjournment sine die.

A BILL FOR AN ACT

- 2 Relating to transferring jurisdiction of highways; and prescribing an effective date.
- Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:
 - SECTION 1. (1) The Director of Transportation shall require each region described in this section to conduct a jurisdictional transfer evaluation that identifies and prioritizes highways for jurisdictional transfer. The evaluations must:
 - (a) Identify highways that are candidates for jurisdictional transfer;
 - (b) Develop cost estimates for improving highways to meet adequacy standards before transfer;
 - (c) Assess readiness of cities and counties to receive jurisdiction of highways; and
 - (d) Provide short-term and long-term strategies for managing highways transferred to cities or counties.
 - (2) For purposes of this section:
 - (a) Region one consists of Clackamas, Hood River, Multnomah and Washington Counties.
- (b) Region two consists of Benton, Clatsop, Columbia, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Polk, 15 16 Tillamook and Yamhill Counties.
 - (c) Region three consists of Coos, Curry, Douglas, Jackson and Josephine Counties.
 - (d) Region four consists of Crook, Deschutes, Gilliam, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Sherman, Wasco and Wheeler Counties.
 - (e) Region five consists of Baker, Grant, Harney, Malheur, Morrow, Umatilla, Union and Wallowa Counties.
 - (3) The director shall present the results of the evaluation, in a report to the Joint Committee on Transportation established under ORS 171.858, in the manner provided under ORS 192.245, on or before September 15, 2020.
 - SECTION 2. Section 1 of this 2019 Act is repealed on January 2, 2021.
- SECTION 3. (1) The Oregon Highway Jurisdictional Transfer Fund is established in the 26 State Treasury, separate and distinct from the General Fund. Interest earned by the Oregon 27 Highway Jurisdictional Fund shall be credited to the fund. The fund includes moneys appro-

1

4

5

6 7

8

9

10

11 12

13

14

17

18 19

20 21

22

23

24 25

priated, allocated, deposited or transferred to the fund by the Legislative Assembly or oth-
erwise and interest earned on moneys in the fund. Moneys in the fund are continuously
appropriated to the Department of Transportation for the purpose of paying the costs to
upgrade and transfer jurisdiction of highways.

(2) As used in this section, "highway" has the meaning given that term in ORS 366.005.

SECTION 4. This 2019 Act takes effect on the 91st day after the date on which the 2019 regular session of the Eightieth Legislative Assembly adjourns sine die.