## Enrolled House Bill 2746

Sponsored by Representative LININGER; Representatives CLEM, HOLVEY, JOHNSON, SOLLMAN, Senator OLSEN

CHAPTER	
---------	--

## AN ACT

Relating to facilitating the transition to a not less than 10 cent refund value of certain beverage containers beginning in 2017; and declaring an emergency.

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. Section 2 of this 2017 Act is added to and made a part of ORS 459A.700 to 459A.740.

SECTION 2. In order to allow for the orderly transition to a beverage container refund value of not less than 10 cents per beverage container, as provided for in ORS 459A.702 and 459A.705:

- (1) On and after April 1, 2017, the refund value paid for a beverage container described in ORS 459A.702 (1) shall be not less than 10 cents, regardless of the refund value, or lack of a refund value, indicated on the beverage container.
- (2) On and after April 1, 2017, and until September 30, 2018, beverage containers described in ORS 459A.702 (1) with a refund value of not less than five cents indicated on the beverage container may be sold or offered for sale in this state, notwithstanding the requirements of ORS 459A.702 (2) and 459A.720 (1).
- (3) On and after January 1, 2018, the refund value paid for a beverage container described in ORS 459A.702 (2) shall be not less than 10 cents, regardless of the refund value, or lack of a refund value, indicated on the beverage container.
- (4) On and after January 1, 2018, and until December 31, 2018, beverage containers described in ORS 459A.702 (2) that do not have an indication of refund value affixed to the beverage container may be sold or offered for sale in this state, notwithstanding the requirements of ORS 459A.702 (2), 459A.705 (2) and 459A.720 (1).

SECTION 3. Sections 1 and 2 of this 2017 Act are repealed on January 2, 2019.

SECTION 4. This 2017 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2017 Act takes effect on its passage.

Passed by House February 22, 2017	Received by Governor:
	, 2017
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House	Approved:
	, 2017
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House	
Passed by Senate March 20, 2017	Kate Brown, Governor
	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:
Peter Courtney, President of Senate	, 2017
	Dennis Richardson, Secretary of State