Enrolled House Bill 2040

Introduced and printed pursuant to House Rule 12.00. Presession filed (at the request of Governor Kate Brown for Oregon Health Authority)

CHAPTER	
---------	--

AN ACT

Relating to the Traditional Health Workers Commission; amending ORS 413.600.

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. ORS 413.600 is amended to read:

- 413.600. (1) There is established within the Oregon Health Authority the Traditional Health Workers Commission.
- (2) The Director of the Oregon Health Authority shall appoint the following [19] 23 members to serve on the commission:
- (a) [Ten] **Thirteen** members, **of which a majority or** at least [six of whom] **seven** must be appointed from nominees [provided] **selected** by the Oregon Community Health Workers Association, who represent traditional health workers, including at least one member to represent each of the following:
 - (A) Community health workers, as defined in ORS 414.025;
 - (B) Personal health navigators, as defined in ORS 414.025;
- (C) Peer wellness specialists, [including family support specialists and youth support specialists, all] as defined in ORS 414.025;
- (D) Peer support specialists, [including family support specialists and youth support specialists, all] as defined in ORS 414.025; [and]
 - (E) Doulas;
 - (F) Family support specialists, as defined in ORS 414.025; and
 - (G) Youth support specialists, as defined in ORS 414.025;
 - (b) One member who represents the Office of Community Colleges and Workforce Development;
- (c) One member who is a [community health] nurse who represents the Oregon Nurses Association;
- (d) One member who is a physician [who represents the Oregon Medical Association] licensed in this state;
 - (e) One member selected from nominees provided by the Home Care Commission;
 - (f) One member who represents coordinated care organizations;
 - (g) One member who represents a labor organization;
- (h) One member who supervises traditional health workers at a community-based organization, local health department, as defined in ORS 433.235, or agency, as defined in ORS 183.310;
- (i) One member who represents community-based organizations or agencies, as defined in ORS 183.310, that provide for the training of traditional health workers; [and]

- (j) One member who represents a consumer of services provided by health workers who are not licensed by this state[.]; and
- (k) One member who represents providers of Indian health services that work with traditional health workers qualified under ORS 414.665, a federally recognized tribe or a tribal organization.
- (3) In appointing members under subsection (2) of this section, the director shall consider whether the composition of the Traditional Health Workers Commission represents the geographic, ethnic, gender, racial, disability status, gender identity, sexual orientation and economic diversity of traditional health workers.
- (4) The term of office of each member of the commission is three years, but a member serves at the pleasure of the director. Before the expiration of the term of a member, the director shall appoint a successor whose term begins on January 1 next following. A member is eligible for reappointment. If there is a vacancy for any cause, the director shall make an appointment to become immediately effective for the unexpired term.
- (5) A majority of the members of the commission constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business.
- (6) Official action by the commission requires the approval of a majority of the members of the commission.
 - (7) The commission shall elect one of its members to serve as chairperson.
- (8) The commission shall meet at times and places specified by the call of the chairperson or of a majority of the members of the commission.
 - (9) The commission may adopt rules necessary for the operation of the commission.
- (10) A member of the commission is entitled to compensation and expenses as provided in ORS 292.495.

Passed by House February 20, 2019	Received by Governor:
Repassed by House May 8, 2019	, 2019
	Approved:
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House	, 2019
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House	Kate Brown, Governor
Passed by Senate May 6, 2019	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:
Peter Courtney, President of Senate	Bay Clarno Sacretary of State