SB 1548 A STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Carrier: Sen. Thatcher, Sen. Steiner

Senate Committee On Rules

Action Date:	02/27/24
Action:	Do pass with amendments. (Printed A-Eng.)
Vote:	4-1-0-0
Yeas:	4 - Hansell, Lieber, Manning Jr, Steiner
Nays:	1 - Knopp
Fiscal:	Has minimal fiscal impact
Revenue:	No revenue impact
Prepared By:	Whitney Perez
Meeting Dates:	2/22, 2/27

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

The measure abolishes the annual one-hour change in time from standard time to daylight saving time and maintains standard time for all 12 months of the calendar year for the portion of Oregon that is located in the Pacific Time Zone. It specifies that the change to standard time becomes operative at 2 a.m. on the second Sunday of the first March in which California and Washington also adopt standard time for all 12 months of the year. It also provides that if the change to standard time in Oregon has not become operative by March 1, 2034, Oregon will continue to have a one-hour time change.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- Potential health and safety impact of measure
- The operative trigger of California and Washington also implementing standard time
- History of daylight saving time and the one-hour change in time
- Federal regulation of time

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

The amendment specifies that the change to standard time for all 12 months of the calendar year for the portion of Oregon located in the Pacific Time Zone becomes operative at 2 a.m. on the second Sunday of the first March in which the standard time in California and Washington is the United States standard of time and does not contain a one-hour change in time in those states. The amendment provides that if the change to standard time in Oregon has not become operative by March 1, 2034, Oregon will continue to have a one-hour time change.

BACKGROUND:

Daylight saving time is the practice of setting the clock one hour forward for 34 weeks of the year, allowing for more daylight in the evening hours. The United States used daylight saving time at times during World War I and World War II, with some state and local governments persisting in the practice. The Uniform Time Act of 1966 standardized the practice nationwide, while allowing states to exempt themselves. Hawaii and Arizona, with the exception of the Navajo Nation, do not observe daylight saving time.

In 2019, the Legislative Assembly enacted Senate Bill 320, which maintained Oregon on daylight saving time except for the portion of Oregon in the Mountain Time Zone. However, that measure specified that it would only become operative after similar 12-month daylight saving time legislation was operative in California and Washington. Other provisions of Senate Bill 320 specified that if this did not occur by December 1, 2029, Oregon would continue the current practice of having a one-hour time change. To date, Senate Bill 320 has not become operative for requiring the portion of Oregon located within the Pacific Time Zone to be maintained permanently on daylight saving time.

SB 1548 A STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Senate Bill 1548 A maintains, for the portion of Oregon that is located in the Pacific Time Zone, standard time for all 12 months of the calendar year. SB 1548 A becomes operative when California and Washington also have standard time for all 12 months of the calendar year.