## Resolution

By: McCortney

ENROLLED SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 37

A Resolution congratulating OU Softball and Coach Patty Gasso; and expressing appreciation for their representation of the university and state.

WHEREAS, the 2022 University of Oklahoma (OU) softball team, under the direction of head coach Patty Gasso, swept rival University of Texas in the Women's College World Series finals, to win its second consecutive national title; and

WHEREAS, the 2023 OU softball team swept Florida State in the Women's College World Series finals to claim the program's third straight national championship; and

WHEREAS, the Sooners, over the forty-nine-year history of the University of Oklahoma softball program, have won seven national championships, including five in the past seven years and six in the past ten; and have competed in sixteen Women's College World Series, including eleven of the last twelve; and

WHEREAS, the 2023 team set the NCAA Division I record for longest winning streak, registering fifty-three victories in a row to break a twenty-six-year-old record previously held by the University of Arizona at forty-seven straight; and

WHEREAS, a nation-leading five Sooners were named 2023 National Fastpitch Coaches Association First-Team All-Americans; and

WHEREAS, OU went undefeated in 2023 conference play for just the fourth time in the league's history, finishing eighteen to zero and winning the program's eleventh consecutive Big 12 regular season title and fifteenth overall; and

WHEREAS, the Sooners completed the Big 12 title sweep by winning the 2023 Big 12 Softball Championship in Oklahoma City, the program's eighth conference tournament crown; and

WHEREAS, Coach Gasso was named Big 12 Coach of the Year for the eleventh consecutive season in 2023 and fifteenth time overall; and

WHEREAS, OU placed eight student-athletes on the 2023 All-Big 12 teams, including a league-high seven on the first team; and

WHEREAS, OU student-athletes took home three 2023 conference individual awards in Big 12 Player of the Year Jayda Coleman, Big 12 Pitcher of the Year Jordy Bahl, and Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year Grace Lyons; and

WHEREAS, the 2023 team went undefeated at home in the twenty-fifth and final campaign at Marita Hynes Field, finishing nineteen to zero to extend OU's home-field winning streak to sixty-five games.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE 2ND SESSION OF THE 59TH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE:

THAT the Oklahoma State Senate congratulates the OU women's softball team and Coach Patty Gasso for their third straight national championship win.

THAT the Oklahoma State Senate expresses appreciation for Coach Patty Gasso and the 2022 and 2023 University of Oklahoma softball teams for the exemplary manner in which they represented the University of Oklahoma and the State of Oklahoma.

Adopted by the Senate the 4th day of April, 2024.

Presiding Officer of the Senate

## OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

	Received	by	the	Office	of	the	Secretary	of	State th	nis _	 
day	of				20		, at		o'clo	ock _	 М.
Ву:											