Resolution

ENROLLED SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 21

By: Weaver, Allen, Bergstrom, Boren, Brooks, Bullard, Burns, Coleman, Dahm, Daniels, David, Dossett (J.A.), Dossett (J.J.), Dugger, Floyd, Garvin, Hall, Hamilton, Haste, Hicks, Howard, Jech, Jett, Kidd, Kirt, Leewright, Matthews, McCortney, Merrick, Montgomery, Murdock, Newhouse, Paxton, Pederson, Pemberton, Pugh, Quinn, Rader, Rogers, Rosino, Simpson, Standridge, Stanley, Stephens, Taylor, Thompson, Treat and Young

A Resolution recognizing the first Oklahoma Highway Patrol Tactical Team; and directing distribution.

WHEREAS, during the late 1960s and early 1970s, the Oklahoma Highway Patrol was conducting numerous manhunts for felony escapees and violent criminals on the run from the law; and

WHEREAS, there became a need to organize a specialized unit capable of operating as a team and able to go after these offenders in the rural terrain of Oklahoma for extended periods of time; and

WHEREAS, a group of troopers were tired of being assigned to the standard roadblocks, unable to leave their units and chase the bad guys into the woods; and

WHEREAS, these troopers, many with military backgrounds, started the conversation about the unconventional tactics they learned in the military that could be applied to apprehending fleeing felons; and

WHEREAS, they brought their ideas to the Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety at the time, Roger Webb, and he gave his approval for the Oklahoma Highway Patrol Tactical Team to be formed; and

WHEREAS, the first Tactical Team was made up of then DPS Commissioner Roger Webb, John Haynie, Pete Carman, Dutch Schneider, Fred Horn, Perry Floyd, Jim Pischel and the late Darrel Wiemers.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE 1ST SESSION OF THE 58TH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE:

THAT the Oklahoma State Senate recognizes the outstanding work and dedication of the state's first Oklahoma Highway Patrol Tactical Team.

THAT a copy of this resolution be distributed to former DPS Commissioner Roger Webb, John Haynie, Pete Carman, Dutch Schneider, Fred Horn, Perry Floyd, Jim Pischel and the late Darrel Wiemers' family.

Adopted by the Senate the 19th day of May, 2021.

By: