Resolution

ENROLLED SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 14

By: Rader, Allen, Bass, Bergstrom, Bice, Boggs, Brecheen, Brown, Dahm, Daniels, David, Dossett, Dugger, Fields, Floyd, Fry, Griffin, Holt, Jech, Kidd, Leewright, Loveless, Marlatt, Matthews, McCortney, Newberry, Newhouse, Paxton, Pederson, Pemberton, Pittman, Pugh, Quinn, Schulz, Scott, Sharp, Shaw, Silk, Simpson, Smalley, Sparks, Standridge, Stanislawski, Sykes, Thompson, Treat and Yen

A Resolution congratulating the University of Tulsa Golden Hurricane football team for winning the 2016 Miami Beach Bowl; commending their outstanding 2016 season; and directing distribution.

WHEREAS, the University of Tulsa Golden Hurricane football team finished their impressive 2016 season by beating Central Michigan to win the Miami Beach Bowl; and

WHEREAS, it was the team's 21st bowl game appearance and their tenth bowl victory; and

WHEREAS, the Golden Hurricane's 10-3 season was the team's tenth 10-win season in school history, and the first since 2012; and

WHEREAS, for the first time in the 147 years of college and NCAA D1/FBS football, history was established by the Hurricane when Josh Atkinson went over 1,000 yards receiving for the season in the bowl game, making Tulsa the first team to have a 3,000-yard passer (Dane Evans), two 1,000-yard rushers (D'Angelo Brewer and James Flanders) and two 1,000-yard receivers (Josh Atkinson and Keevan Lucas); and

WHEREAS, the Hurricane scored 40 points or more ten times in 2016, and had four games scoring over 50 points; and

WHEREAS, Tulsa accumulated over 500 yards of total offense five times this season; and

WHEREAS, the team rushed for over 300 yards eight times in 2016 setting a school record which was also the second most in the NCAA; and

WHEREAS, the Hurricane completed the season ranked among the nation's offensive leaders - 4th for total offense, 7th for scoring, 8th for rushing offense and 30th for passing offense; and

WHEREAS, the running duo of James Flanders and D'Angelo Brewer became only the second pair of backs in school history to rush for over 1,000 yards in the same season, and the 72nd pair of backs in NCAA history to accomplish the feat; and

WHEREAS, Tulsa set 11 individual school records on offense, including 9 career records, one single-season and one single-game record; and

WHEREAS, Tulsa's 31-point comeback over Fresno State ties for the second largest comeback in NCAA FBS/Division 1 history; and

WHEREAS, Dane Evans was honored as one of 24 players nationwide named to the prestigious Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, one of the most-coveted off-the-field honors in college football.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE 1ST SESSION OF THE 56TH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE:

THAT the Oklahoma State Senate congratulates the University of Tulsa Golden Hurricane football team for winning the 2016 Miami Beach Bowl.

THAT the Oklahoma State Senate commends the Golden Hurricane for their record-setting season.

THAT a copy of this resolution be distributed to University of Tulsa President, Gerard P. Clancy, M.D.; Athletic Director, Dr. Derrick Gragg; Associate Athletic Director, Brian Scislo; Head Football Coach Philip Montgomery; Director of Football Operations, Kyle Grooms; Dane Evans, Josh Atkinson, Keevan Lucas, James Flanders and D'Angelo Brewer.

Adopted by the Senate the 10th day of April, 2017.

Presiding Officer of the Senate

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

Received by the Office of the Secretary of State this

day of _____, 20 ____, at ____ o'clock _____M.

By: _____