## Resolution

ENROLLED SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1

By: Sharp, Allen, Bass, Bergstrom, Bice, Boggs, Brecheen, Brown, Dahm, Daniels, David, Dossett, Dugger, Fields, Floyd, Fry, Griffin, Holt, Jech, Kidd, Leewright, Loveless, Marlatt, Matthews, McCortney, Newberry, Newhouse, Paxton, Pederson, Pemberton, Pittman, Pugh, Quinn, Rader, Schulz, Scott, Shaw, Shortey, Silk, Simpson, Smalley, Sparks, Standridge, Stanislawski, Sykes, Thompson, Treat and Yen

A Resolution applauding the 2016 Class 3A State Football Champions, the Jones Longhorns; congratulating quarterback Brandon George; commending head coach Dave Martin; and directing distribution.

WHEREAS, the Jones Longhorns defeated the Plainview Indians 16-6 on December 2, 2016, in Moore, Oklahoma, to win the 2016 Class 3A Football State Championship; and

WHEREAS, it was Jones High School's first gold ball; and

WHEREAS, the Longhorns entered the championship game averaging 293 passing yards and 238 rushing yards per game; and

WHEREAS, senior quarterback Brandon George had the best overall season in Jones history, passing for 4,035 yards and 44 touchdowns with only five interceptions along with rushing for 1,305 yards and 21 touchdowns; and

WHEREAS, Brandon George was named The Oklahoman's Little All-City Offensive Player of the Year as well as the Gatorade Oklahoma Player of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Jones head coach Dave Martin was named The Oklahoman's All-State and Little All-City Coach of the Year.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE 1ST SESSION OF THE 56TH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE:

THAT the Oklahoma State Senate applauds the Jones Longhorns for winning the 2016 Class 3A State Football Championship, the first in school history.

THAT the Oklahoma State Senate congratulates senior quarterback Brandon George for being named The Oklahoman's Little All-City Player of the Year and the Gatorade Oklahoma Player of the Year.

THAT the Oklahoma State Senate commends head coach Dave Martin for being named The Oklahoman's All-State and Little All-City Coach of the Year.

THAT a copy of this resolution be distributed to Jones football head coach Dave Martin, Superintendent Dr. Carl Johnson and High School Principal Curtis Moses.

Adopted by the Senate the 13th day of February, 2017.

Presiding Officer of the Senate

## OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

	Received	by	the	Office	of	the	Secretary	of	State	this	 
day	of				20		, at		o'd	clock	 Μ.
Ву:											