1 HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES - FLOOR VERSION 2 STATE OF OKLAHOMA 3 1st Session of the 56th Legislature (2017) ENGROSSED SENATE 4 CONCURRENT 5 RESOLUTION NO. 8 By: Pemberton, Floyd, Pittman, Rader, Quinn, Bass, Allen, 6 Bergstrom, Bice, Boggs, Brecheen, Brown, Dahm, 7 Daniels, David, Dossett, Dugger, Fields, Fry, Griffin, Holt, Jech, Kidd, 8 Leewright, Loveless, 9 Marlatt, Matthews, McCortney, Newberry, Newhouse, Paxton, Pederson, 10 Pugh, Schulz, Scott, Sharp, 11 Shaw, Silk, Simpson, Smalley, Sparks, 12 Standridge, Stanislawski, Sykes, Thompson, Treat and Yen of the Senate 13 14 and 15 Dunnington, Young, Proctor, Gann, Faught, Frix and Montgomery of the House 16 17 A Concurrent Resolution recognizing Oklahoma Schools 18 of Character Day; commending Oklahoma schools; and directing distribution. 19 20 21 WHEREAS, six schools were designated as Oklahoma Schools of 22 Character in 2017, including Dove Science Academy Secondary School 23 24 in Oklahoma City, Dove Charter Elementary in Oklahoma City, Dove

- 1 | Science Academy Secondary in Tulsa, Lawton Eisenhower High School,
- 2 | Pryor Jr. High and Whittier Elementary in Muskogee; and
- 3 WHEREAS, there is no set number of schools to be designated each
- 4 | year; and
- 5 WHEREAS, in 2011, Muskogee High School was the only school
- 6 designated and became the first State and National School of
- 7 | Character in Oklahoma under the guidance of then high school
- 8 principal, Dewayne Pemberton; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Oklahoma's six schools in 2017 are among 80 designated
- 10 | schools nationwide representing 27 different states; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Oklahoma has the 5th largest number of designated
- 12 | Schools of Character among the 27 states; and
- 13 WHEREAS, schools are named based on their adherence to the
- 14 | standards set forth in 11 Principles of Effective Character
- 15 | Education, which is a research-based set of criteria used to
- 16 | evaluate the total culture of the school community; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Schools of Character are named each May by the national
- 18 organization, Character.org and Oklahoma's state affiliate non-
- 19 profit, OKcharacter.org.
- 20 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE 1ST SESSION
- 21 OF THE 56TH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
- 22 | CONCURRING THEREIN:
- 23 THAT the Oklahoma Legislature recognizes Monday, April 10, 2017,
- 24 as Oklahoma Schools of Character Day in Oklahoma.

1 THAT the Oklahoma Legislature commends Dove Science Academy 2 Secondary School in Oklahoma City, Dove Charter Elementary in 3 Oklahoma City, Dove Science Academy Secondary in Tulsa, Lawton 4 Eisenhower High School, Pryor Jr. High and Whittier Elementary in 5 Muskogee for being named 2017 Oklahoma Schools of Character. 6 THAT a copy of this resolution be distributed to Sheril Morgan, Director of Schools of Character for Character.org; Madison 7 Tomlinson, State Coordinator of Schools of Character for 9 OKcharacter.org; Oklahoma City Dove Science Academy Dean of 10 Discipline, Jason Mack; Oklahoma City Dove Charter Elementary 11 Counselor, Carmen Floris; Tulsa Dove Science Academy Principal, 12 Abidin Erez; Lawton Eisenhower High School Principal, Charlotte 13 Oates; Pryor Jr. High Principal, Terry Gwartney; and Whittier 14 Elementary Principal, Lisa Rogers. 15 DIRECT TO CALENDAR. 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24