## Resolution

ENROLLED SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 8

By: Pemberton, Floyd, Pittman, Rader, Quinn, Bass, Allen, Bergstrom, Bice, Boggs, Brecheen, Brown, Dahm, Daniels, David, Dossett, Dugger, Fields, Fry, Griffin, Holt, Jech, Kidd, Leewright, Loveless, Marlatt, Matthews, McCortney, Newberry, Newhouse, Paxton, Pederson, Pugh, Schulz, Scott, Sharp, Shaw, Silk, Simpson, Smalley, Sparks, Standridge, Stanislawski, Sykes, Thompson, Treat and Yen of the Senate

and

Dunnington, Young, Proctor, Gann, Faught, Frix, Montgomery, Babinec, Baker, Bennett (Forrest), Bennett (John), Biggs, Blancett, Brumbaugh, Bush, Caldwell, Calvey, Cannaday, Casey, Cleveland, Cockroft, Condit, Coody, Derby, Dollens, Downing, Dunlap, Echols, Enns, Fetgatter, Ford, Fourkiller, Goodwin, Griffith, Hall, Hardin, Henke, Hilbert, Hoskin, Humphrey, Inman, Jordan, Kannady, Kerbs, Kirby, Kouplen, Lawson, Lepak, Loring, Lowe, Martin, Martinez, McBride, McCall, McDaniel, McDugle,

McEachin, McEntire, Meredith, Moore, Mulready, Munson, Murdock, Murphey, Newell, Newton, Nichols, Nollan, O'Donnell, Ortega, Osborn (Leslie), Osburn (Mike), Ownbey, Park, Perryman, Pfeiffer, Renegar, Ritze, Roberts (Dustin), Roberts (Sean), Rogers, Russ, Sanders, Sears, Stone, Strohm, Tadlock, Teague, Thomsen, Vaughan, Virgin, Walke, Wallace, Watson, West (Josh), West (Kevin), West (Rick), West (Tammy), Williams, Worthen and Wright of the House

A Concurrent Resolution recognizing Oklahoma Schools of Character Day; commending Oklahoma schools; and directing distribution.

WHEREAS, six schools were designated as Oklahoma Schools of Character in 2017, including Dove Science Academy Secondary School in Oklahoma City, Dove Charter Elementary in Oklahoma City, Dove Science Academy Secondary in Tulsa, Lawton Eisenhower High School, Pryor Jr. High and Whittier Elementary in Muskogee; and

WHEREAS, there is no set number of schools to be designated each year; and

WHEREAS, in 2011, Muskogee High School was the only school designated and became the first State and National School of

Character in Oklahoma under the guidance of then high school principal, Dewayne Pemberton; and

WHEREAS, Oklahoma's six schools in 2017 are among 80 designated schools nationwide representing 27 different states; and

WHEREAS, Oklahoma has the 5th largest number of designated Schools of Character among the 27 states; and

WHEREAS, schools are named based on their adherence to the standards set forth in 11 Principles of Effective Character Education, which is a research-based set of criteria used to evaluate the total culture of the school community; and

WHEREAS, Schools of Character are named each May by the national organization, Character.org and Oklahoma's state affiliate non-profit, OKcharacter.org.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE 1ST SESSION OF THE 56TH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN:

THAT the Oklahoma Legislature recognizes Monday, April 10, 2017, as Oklahoma Schools of Character Day in Oklahoma.

THAT the Oklahoma Legislature commends Dove Science Academy Secondary School in Oklahoma City, Dove Charter Elementary in Oklahoma City, Dove Science Academy Secondary in Tulsa, Lawton Eisenhower High School, Pryor Jr. High and Whittier Elementary in Muskogee for being named 2017 Oklahoma Schools of Character.

THAT a copy of this resolution be distributed to Sheril Morgan, Director of Schools of Character for Character.org; Madison Tomlinson, State Coordinator of Schools of Character for OKcharacter.org; Oklahoma City Dove Science Academy Dean of Discipline, Jason Mack; Oklahoma City Dove Charter Elementary Counselor, Carmen Floris; Tulsa Dove Science Academy Principal, Abidin Erez; Lawton Eisenhower High School Principal, Charlotte Oates; Pryor Jr. High Principal, Terry Gwartney; and Whittier Elementary Principal, Lisa Rogers. Adopted by the Senate the 10th day of April, 2017.

Presiding Officer of the Senate

Adopted by the House of Representatives the 11th day of April, 2017.

Presiding Officer of the House of Representatives

## OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

Received by the	e Office of the	Secretary of	State this	
-----------------	-----------------	--------------	------------	--

day	of	,	20	, at	t	o'clock	М.

By: \_\_\_\_\_