1	STATE OF OKLAHOMA
2	1st Session of the 56th Legislature (2017)
3	SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION 8 By: Pemberton, Floyd, Pittman,
4	RESOLUTION 6 By. Femberton, Floyd, Fitthan, Rader, Quinn and Bass of the Senate
5	and
6	
7	Dunnington, Young, Proctor, Gann, Faught, Frix and Montgomery of the House
8	Montgomery of the house
9	
10	<u>AS INTRODUCED</u>
11	A Concurrent Resolution recognizing Oklahoma Schools of Character Day; commending Oklahoma schools; and
12	directing distribution.
13	
14	
15	WHEREAS, six schools were designated as Oklahoma Schools of
16	Character in 2017, including Dove Science Academy Secondary School
17	in Oklahoma City, Dove Charter Elementary in Oklahoma City, Dove
18	Science Academy Secondary in Tulsa, Lawton Eisenhower High School,
19	Pryor Jr. High and Whittier Elementary in Muskogee; and
20	WHEREAS, there is no set number of schools to be designated each
21	year; and
22	WHEREAS, in 2011, Muskogee High School was the only school
23	designated and became the first State and National School of
24	

Req. No. 1599 Page 1

```
1
    Character in Oklahoma under the quidance of then high school
 2
    principal, Dewayne Pemberton; and
 3
        WHEREAS, Oklahoma's six schools in 2017 are among 80 designated
 4
    schools nationwide representing 27 different states; and
 5
        WHEREAS, Oklahoma has the 5th largest number of designated
    Schools of Character among the 27 states; and
 6
        WHEREAS, schools are named based on their adherence to the
 7
    standards set forth in 11 Principles of Effective Character
 9
    Education, which is a research-based set of criteria used to
10
    evaluate the total culture of the school community; and
11
        WHEREAS, Schools of Character are named each May by the national
12
    organization, Character.org and Oklahoma's state affiliate non-
    profit, OKcharacter.org.
13
        NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE 1ST SESSION
14
15
    OF THE 56TH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
    CONCURRING THEREIN:
16
        THAT the Oklahoma Legislature recognizes Monday, April 10, 2017,
17
    as Oklahoma Schools of Character Day in Oklahoma.
18
        THAT the Oklahoma Legislature commends Dove Science Academy
19
    Secondary School in Oklahoma City, Dove Charter Elementary in
20
    Oklahoma City, Dove Science Academy Secondary in Tulsa, Lawton
21
```

Req. No. 1599 Page 2

Eisenhower High School, Pryor Jr. High and Whittier Elementary in

Muskogee for being named 2017 Oklahoma Schools of Character.

22

23

24

```
1
        THAT a copy of this resolution be distributed to Sheril Morgan,
 2
    Director of Schools of Character for Character.org; Madison
 3
    Tomlinson, State Coordinator of Schools of Character for
    OKcharacter.org; Oklahoma City Dove Science Academy Dean of
 4
 5
    Discipline, Jason Mack; Oklahoma City Dove Charter Elementary
 6
    Counselor, Carmen Floris; Tulsa Dove Science Academy Principal,
 7
    Abidin Erez; Lawton Eisenhower High School Principal, Charlotte
    Oates; Pryor Jr. High Principal, Terry Gwartney; and Whittier
 9
    Elementary Principal, Lisa Rogers.
10
        56-1-1599
                       JB
                                 3/31/2017 10:24:09 AM
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
```

Req. No. 1599 Page 3