Resolution

ENROLLED SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 7

By: Kidd, Allen, Bergstrom, Boren, Brooks, Bullard, Burns, Coleman, Dahm, Daniels, David, Dossett (J.A.), Dossett (J.J.), Dugger, Floyd, Garvin, Hall, Hamilton, Haste, Hicks, Howard, Jech, Jett, Kirt, Leewright, McCortney, Merrick, Montgomery, Murdock, Newhouse, Paxton, Pederson, Pemberton, Pugh, Quinn, Rader, Rogers, Rosino, Simpson, Standridge, Stanley, Stephens, Taylor, Thompson, Treat, and Weaver of the Senate

and

Caldwell (Trey) and Kerbs of the House

A Concurrent Resolution designating cotton as the State Fiber of Oklahoma; recognizing its impact in the state; thanking farmers; and directing distribution.

WHEREAS, Oklahoma has a rich history of diverse agriculture production; and

WHEREAS, cotton is an integral agricultural commodity to the Sooner State, being grown in more than 37 counties in 2020; and

WHEREAS, Oklahoma ranks among the top 10 cotton-producing states; and

WHEREAS, the cotton industry had 640,000 acres planted in 2019, with a yield of 688 pounds per harvested acre; and

WHEREAS, cotton grown in Oklahoma provides feed for livestock, fiber for clothing, cotton seed oil for cooking, cellulose for plastics and high-quality paper for currencies; and

WHEREAS, the cotton industry creates billions of dollars in revenue for this state in the form of exports, industry and jobs.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE 1ST SESSION OF THE 58TH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN:

THAT the Oklahoma Legislature designates cotton as the State Fiber of Oklahoma and requests it be added as a state symbol.

THAT the Oklahoma Legislature recognizes cotton's tremendous impact on Oklahoma's economy and thanks Oklahoma's cotton producers for their work to provide Oklahomans and the global market with the highest of quality cotton grown.

THAT a copy of this resolution be distributed to Frederick Elementary's 3rd grade class and teachers, Alison Ellis, Halle Pineda, Lisa Sizelove and Kay Cabaniss; Oklahoma Secretary of Agriculture Blayne Arthur; Harvey Shroeder with the Oklahoma Cotton Council; CHS Area Location Manager Brandon Winters; Tyler and Lacey Oxford; Landon and Lindsay Hunt with Hunt Ag Enterprises; and Melody Aufill with Oklahoma Ag in the Classroom. Adopted by the Senate the 20th day of April, 2021.

Presiding Officer of the Senate

Adopted by the House of Representatives the 20th day of April, 2021.

Presiding Officer of the House of Representatives

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

ceived by the Office of the Secretary of State this

day	of	,	20	, at	t	o'clock	М.

By: _____