

ENROLLED SENATE BILL NO. 94

By: Hall of the Senate

and

Mize and McEntire of the House

An Act relating to the Opioid Overdose Fatality Review Board; amending Section 3, Chapter 252, O.S.L. 2018 (63 O.S. Supp. 2020, Section 2-1002), which relates to composition of Board; modifying composition; and providing an effective date.

SUBJECT: Opioid Overdose Fatality Review Board

BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA:

SECTION 1. AMENDATORY Section 3, Chapter 252, O.S.L. 2018 (63 O.S. Supp. 2020, Section 2-1002), is amended to read as follows:

Section 2-1002. A. The Opioid Overdose Fatality Review Board shall be composed of twenty (20) twenty-two (22) members, or their designees, as follows:

- 1. Ten Twelve of the members shall be:
 - a. the Attorney General or designee,
 - b. the Chief Medical Examiner or designee,
 - c. the State Commissioner of Health or designee,

- d. the Chief of Injury Prevention Services of the State Department of Health or designee,
- e. the President of the Oklahoma State Medical Association or designee,
- f. the Director of the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs Control or designee,
- g. the Commissioner of the Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services or designee,
- h. the President of the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association or designee,
- i. the Director of the Department of Human Services or designee, and
- j. the Director of the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation or designee; and,
- <u>k.</u> the President of the Association of Oklahoma Narcotic Enforcers or designee, and
- 1. <u>the Executive Director of the State Board of Pharmacy</u> or designee; and

2. Ten of the members shall be appointed by the Attorney General, shall serve for terms of two (2) years and shall be eligible for reappointment. The members shall be persons having training and experience in matters related to opioid abuse and prevention. The appointed members shall include:

- a county sheriff selected from a list of three names submitted by the executive board of the Oklahoma Sheriffs' Association,
- a chief of a municipal police department selected from a list of three names submitted by the Oklahoma Association of Chiefs of Police,

- c. an attorney licensed in this state who is in private practice selected from a list of three names submitted by the Board of Governors of the Oklahoma Bar Association,
- d. a district attorney selected from a list of three names submitted by the District Attorneys Council,
- e. a physician with emergency medical training selected from a list of three names submitted by the Oklahoma State Medical Association,
- f. a physician with experience in drug addiction treatment and recovery selected from a list of three names submitted by the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association,
- g. a nurse selected from a list of three names submitted by the Oklahoma Nurses Association,
- h. two individuals, at least one of whom shall be a person who currently receives or formerly has been a consumer of addiction recovery services related to opioid use, selected from a list of three names submitted by the Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services, and
- i. a member of the judiciary selected from a list of three names submitted by the Oklahoma Supreme Court.

B. Every two (2) years the Board shall elect from among its membership a chair and a vice-chair. The Board shall meet at least quarterly and may meet more frequently as necessary as determined by the chair. Members shall serve without compensation but may be reimbursed for necessary travel out of funds available to the Office of the Attorney General and the Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services, pursuant to the State Travel Reimbursement Act; provided, that the reimbursement shall be paid in the case of state employee members by the agency employing the member.

C. With funds appropriated or otherwise available for that purpose, the Office of the Attorney General, jointly with the

Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services, shall provide administrative assistance and services to the Opioid Overdose Fatality Review Board.

SECTION 2. This act shall become effective November 1, 2021.

Passed the Senate the 1st day of March, 2021.

Presiding Officer of the Senate

Passed the House of Representatives the 21st day of April, 2021.

Presiding Officer of the House of Representatives

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR

	Received by	the Office of t	che Governo	r this	
day	of	, 20_	, at	o'cloc	k M.
By:					
	Approved by	the Governor of	the State	of Oklahoma th	is
day	of	, 20_	, at	o'cloc	k M.
			Govern	or of the State	of Oklahoma
	OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE				
	Received by	the Office of t	the Secreta	ry of State thi	S
day	of	, 20 _	, at	o'cloc	k M.
By:					