1	STATE OF OKLAHOMA
2	2nd Session of the 58th Legislature (2022)
3	HOUSE BILL 3215 By: Nichols
4	
5	
6	AS INTRODUCED
7	An Act relating to transportation; amending 69 O.S. 2021, Section 302, which relates to member of the
8	State Transportation Commission; modifying term of Commission member appointment; providing for removal
9	with cause; amending 69 O.S. 2021, Section 305, which relates to the Director of the Department of
10	Transportation; requiring the Director be at-will employee; modifying appointment procedure of
11	Director; providing for removal with cause; modifying authority setting compensation; deleting certain
12	removal procedure; and providing an effective date.
13	
14	
15	BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA:
16	SECTION 1. AMENDATORY 69 O.S. 2021, Section 302, is
17	amended to read as follows:
18	Section 302. A. The State Transportation Commission shall
19	consist of an at-large member and one (1) member from each of eight
20	districts of the state, such districts to serve as the maintenance
21	districts and to include the area as follows:
22	District 1. Wagoner, Cherokee, Adair, Sequoyah, Muskogee,
23	Okmulgee, McIntosh and Haskell Counties.
24	

Req. No. 8452

District 2. Pittsburg, Latimer, LeFlore, McCurtain, Pushmataha,
Atoka, Choctaw, Bryan and Marshall Counties.

District 3. Lincoln, Cleveland, McClain, Garvin, Pottawatomie, 3 4 Okfuskee, Seminole, Hughes, Pontotoc, Coal and Johnston Counties. 5 District 4. Payne, Logan, Canadian, Kingfisher, Garfield, Grant, Kay, Noble and Oklahoma Counties. 6 7 District 5. Roger Mills, Dewey, Custer, Washita, Beckham, Greer, Kiowa, Harmon, Jackson, Blaine, and Tillman Counties. 8 9 District 6. Cimarron, Texas, Beaver, Harper, Woods, Alfalfa, 10 Ellis, Major and Woodward Counties. 11 District 7. Carter, Love, Murray, Grady, Comanche, Stephens, 12 Cotton, Caddo and Jefferson Counties. 13 District 8. Osage, Pawnee, Nowata, Creek, Craig, Ottawa, 14 Rogers, Mayes, Delaware, Washington and Tulsa Counties. 15 The members of the Commission shall be appointed as follows: в. 16 Members from Districts 5, 6, 7 and 8 and the at-large member 1. 17 shall be appointed by the Governor; 18 2. Members from Districts 2 and 3 shall be appointed by the 19 Speaker of the House of Representatives; and 20 3. Members from Districts 1 and 4 shall be appointed by the 21 President Pro Tempore of the Senate. 22 C. Each member shall serve at the pleasure until the end of his 23 or her appointing authority appointer's term and may be removed or 24 replaced without with cause. Any member of the Commission shall be

Page 2

1 prohibited from voting on any issue in which the member has a direct financial interest. The Director of the Department of 2 Transportation shall be an ex officio member of the Commission, but 3 shall be entitled to vote only in case of a tie vote. 4 5 D. The members of the Commission each shall receive an annual salary of Four Thousand Eight Hundred Dollars (\$4,800.00), payable 6 7 monthly, and each shall be entitled to receive travel expenses 8 pursuant to the State Travel Reimbursement Act. 9 SECTION 2. AMENDATORY 69 O.S. 2021, Section 305, is 10 amended to read as follows: Section 305. There is hereby created the office of the Director 11 12 of the Department of Transportation, who shall be appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate and who shall 13 14 serve at the pleasure of the Governor an at-will employee with the 15 Governor appointing the Director from a list of three candidates 16 submitted by the State Transportation Commission and may be removed 17 or, replaced without, or fired by the Commission with cause. 18 Compensation for the Director shall be determined by the Governor 19 Commission. The Director may be removed from office by a two-thirds 20 (2/3) vote of the members elected to and constituting each chamber 21 of the Legislature. 22 SECTION 3. This act shall become effective November 1, 2022. 23 24 58-2-8452 JBH 01/05/22

Page 3