1	ENGROSSED HOUSE
~	BILL NO. 2828 By: Gann of the House
2	and
3	
4	Dahm of the Senate
Т	
5	
6	
7	An Act relating to sunset; amending 59 O.S. 2011,
8	Section 161.4, as last amended by Section 1, Chapter 156, O.S.L. 2016 (59 O.S. Supp. 2019, Section 161.4),
	which relates to the Board of Chiropractic Examiners;
9	re-creating the Board; and modifying termination date.
10	
11	
12	
13	BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA:
14	SECTION 1. AMENDATORY 59 O.S. 2011, Section 161.4, as
15	last amended by Section 1, Chapter 156, O.S.L. 2016 (59 O.S. Supp.
16	2019, Section 161.4), is amended to read as follows:
17	Section 161.4 A. A Board of Chiropractic Examiners is hereby
18	re-created to continue until July 1, 2020 2024, in accordance with
19	the provisions of the Oklahoma Sunset Law. The Board shall regulate
20	the practice of chiropractic in this state in accordance with the
21	provisions of the Oklahoma Chiropractic Practice Act. The Board,
22	appointed by the Governor, shall be composed of eight chiropractic
23	physicians and one lay member representing the public.
24	B. Each chiropractic physician member of the Board shall:

- 1
- 1. Be a legal resident of this state;

Have practiced chiropractic continuously in this state
 during the five (5) years immediately preceding appointment to the
 Board;

5 3. Be free of pending disciplinary action or active
6 investigation by the Board;

7 4. Be a person of recognized professional ability, integrity8 and good reputation; and

9 5. Be in active clinical chiropractic practice at least fifty
10 percent (50%) of the time.

- 11 C. The lay member of the Board shall:
- 12 1. Be a legal resident of this state; and

13 2. Not be a registered or licensed practitioner of any of the 14 healing arts or be related within the third degree of consanguinity 15 or affinity to any such person.

D. The Governor shall appoint members to the Board and for terms of years as follows:

Position 1: Upon expiration of the term of the board member
 whose term expires November 2, 2006, the Governor shall appoint a
 board member from District 1 for a term of four (4) years to expire
 on November 1, 2010, and every four (4) years thereafter;

22 2. Position 2: Upon expiration of the term of the board member 23 whose term expires November 1, 2005, the Governor shall appoint a 24

ENGR. H. B. NO. 2828

1 board member from District 2 for a term of four (4) years to expire 2 on November 1, 2009, and every four (4) years thereafter;

3 3. Position 3: Upon expiration of the term of the board member 4 whose term expires June 7, 2007, the Governor shall appoint a board 5 member from District 3 for a term of four (4) years to expire on 6 June 1, 2011, and every four (4) years thereafter;

7 4. Position 4: Upon expiration of the term of the board member
8 whose term expires November 1, 2007, the Governor shall appoint a
9 board member from District 4 for a term of four (4) years to expire
10 on November 1, 2011, and every four (4) years thereafter;

5. Position 5: Upon expiration of the term of the board member whose term expires June 7, 2008, the Governor shall appoint a board member from District 5 for a term of four (4) years to expire on June 1, 2012, and every four (4) years thereafter;

6. Position 6: On June 1, 2005, the Governor shall appoint a
board member from District 6 for a term of one (1) year to expire on
June 1, 2006, and every four (4) years thereafter;

18 7. Position 7: On November 1, 2005, the Governor shall appoint 19 a board member from District 7 for a term of three (3) years to 20 expire on November 1, 2008, and every four (4) years thereafter;

8. Position 8: Upon expiration of the term of the board member whose term expires June 7, 2005, the Governor shall appoint a board member from the state at large for a term of four (4) years to expire on June 1, 2009, and every four (4) years thereafter; and

ENGR. H. B. NO. 2828

1 9. Position 9: The lay member of the Board shall serve a term 2 coterminous with that of the Governor. 3 E. For the purpose of the Oklahoma Chiropractic Practice Act, the state shall be divided into the following districts: 4 5 1. District 1: Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Caddo, Cimarron, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Grant, Greer, Garfield, Harmon, Harper, 6 7 Jackson, Kiowa, Major, Noble, Roger Mills, Texas, Washita, Woods and Woodward Counties; 8 9 2. District 2: Tulsa County; 10 3. District 3: Kay, Logan, Lincoln, Osage, Pawnee, Payne and 11 Pottawatomie Counties; 12 4. District 4: Carter, Comanche, Cotton, Garvin, Grady, Love, 13 Murray, Jefferson, Stephens and Tillman Counties; 14 5. District 5: Blaine, Canadian, Cleveland, Kingfisher, 15 McClain and Oklahoma Counties: 16 6. District 6: Atoka, Bryan, Coal, Choctaw, Creek, Hughes, 17 Johnston, Latimer, LeFlore, Marshall, McCurtain, Okfuskee, 18 Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pushmataha and Seminole Counties; and 19 7. District 7: Adair, Cherokee, Craig, Delaware, Haskell, 20 Mayes, McIntosh, Muskogee, Nowata, Okmulgee, Ottawa, Rogers, 21 Sequoyah, Wagoner and Washington Counties. 22 Members appointed after June 2002 shall serve no more than two (2) 23 consecutive terms. 24

ENGR. H. B. NO. 2828

F. Each member shall hold office until the expiration of the term of office for which appointed or until a qualified successor has been duly appointed. An appointment shall be made by the Governor within ninety (90) days after the expiration of the term of any member, or the occurrence of a vacancy on the Board due to resignation, death, or any other cause resulting in an unexpired term.

G. Before assuming duties on the Board, each member shall take
and subscribe to the oath or affirmation provided in Article XV of
the Oklahoma Constitution, which oath or affirmation shall be
administered and filed as provided in the article.

H. A member may be removed from the Board by the Governor forcause which shall include, but not be limited to:

14 1. Ceasing to be qualified;

Being found guilty by a court of competent jurisdiction of a
 felony or any offense involving moral turpitude;

17 3. Being found guilty, through due process, of malfeasance,
18 misfeasance or nonfeasance in relation to Board duties;

Being found mentally incompetent by a court of competent
 jurisdiction;

5. Being found in violation of any provision of the Oklahoma
Chiropractic Practice Act; or

23 6. Failing to attend three meetings of the Board without just24 cause, as determined by the Board.

ENGR. H. B. NO. 2828

1	I. No member of the Board shall be:
2	1. A registered lobbyist;
3	2. An officer, board member or employee of a statewide
4	organization established for the purpose of advocating the interests
5	of chiropractors licensed pursuant to the Oklahoma Chiropractic
6	Practice Act; or
7	3. An insurance claims adjuster, reviewer, or consultant;
8	provided, however, a person shall not be considered to be a
9	consultant solely for testifying in a court as an expert witness.
10	Passed the House of Representatives the 5th day of March, 2020.
11	
12	Presiding Officer of the House
13	of Representatives
14	Passed the Senate the day of, 2020.
15	
16	
17	Presiding Officer of the Senate
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	