## An Act

ENROLLED HOUSE BILL NO. 2366

By: Kannady of the House

and

Daniels of the Senate

An Act relating to courts; amending 20 O.S. 2011, Sections 1 and 2, which relate to the Supreme Court; clarifying terms of office; modifying Supreme Court Judicial Districts; providing that current Justices retain office and are eligible for retention; amending 20 O.S. 2011, Section 33, which relates to the Court of Criminal Appeals; modifying Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial Districts; providing that current Judges retain office and are eligible for retention; and providing an effective date.

SUBJECT: Supreme Court and Court of Criminal Appeals districts
BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA:

SECTION 1. AMENDATORY 20 O.S. 2011, Section 1, is amended to read as follows:

Section 1. The Supreme Court shall consist of nine (9) justices <u>Justices</u>. <u>Immediately upon the passage and approval of this act</u>, the Governor shall appoint by and with the advice and consent of the Senate one Justice of the Supreme Court from each of the four additional Supreme Court judicial districts hereby created, each of whom shall serve until the second Monday in January, 1919, Each Justice in office on July 1, 2020, shall serve the term for which the Justice was appointed or retained in office by retention ballot and until his <u>or her</u> successor is <u>elected</u> <u>appointed</u> and qualified, unless the Justice vacates the office prior to the end of his or her term or is removed from office as provided by law. Any Justice in

- office on July 1, 2020, shall be eligible for retention in the same office for succeeding terms.
- SECTION 2. AMENDATORY 20 O.S. 2011, Section 2, is amended to read as follows:

## Section 2. The Beginning July 1, 2020:

- 1. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 1 shall embrace and include the following counties: Ottawa, Craig, Nowata, Rogers, Washington, Osage, Pawnee, Kay and Grant. Congressional District No. 2 as constituted on January 8, 2019;
- The 2. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 2 shall embrace and include the following counties: LeFlore, Haskell, Pittsburg, Latimer, Pushmataha, McCurtain, Choctaw, Bryan, Marshall, Johnston, Atoka, McIntosh and Sequoyah. be an at-large district;
- The 3. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 3 shall embrace and include the following county: Oklahoma. Congressional District No. 5 as constituted on January 8, 2019;
- The 4. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 4 shall embrace and include the following counties: Beckham, Dewey, Roger Mills, Ellis, Woodward, Woods, Major, Harper, Beaver, Texas, Cimarron, Alfalfa, Garfield, Kingfisher, Blaine, Custer and Washita. Congressional District No. 3 as constituted on January 8, 2019;
- The <u>5.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 5 shall embrace and include the following counties: Cleveland, McClain, Garvin, Murray, Carter, Love, Grady, Stephens and Jefferson. Congressional District No. 4 as constituted on January 8, 2019;
- The <u>6.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 6 shall embrace and include the following county: Tulsa. Congressional District No. 1 as constituted on January 8, 2019;
- The 7. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 7 shall embrace and include the following counties: Muskogee, Creek, Okmulgee, Wagoner, Cherokee, Adair, Delaware and Mayes. be an at-large district;
- The <u>8.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 8 shall embrace and include the following counties: Pottawatomie, Seminole, Hughes, Pontotoc, Coal, Okfuskee, Lincoln, Logan, Payne and Noble. be an atlarge district; and

- The 9. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 9 shall embrace and include the following counties: Kiowa, Jackson, Tillman, Harmon, Cotton, Comanche, Caddo, Greer and Canadian be an at-large district.
- SECTION 3. AMENDATORY 20 O.S. 2011, Section 33, is amended to read as follows:
- Section 33. A. The state is hereby divided into five (5) Court of Criminal Appeals judicial districts Judicial Districts. From each of said districts candidates for Judge of the Court of Criminal Appeals shall be nominated and appointed in the manner provided by Article VII-B of the Oklahoma Constitution. All Judges of the Court of Criminal Appeals may seek retention in office pursuant to the provisions of Section 2 of Article VII-B of the Oklahoma Constitution and each Judge shall be voted for by the qualified voters of the state at large.
- B. Beginning July 1, 2020, the boundaries of the Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial Districts shall be the boundaries of the five Oklahoma Congressional Districts as constituted on January 8, 2019, as follows:
- <u>1.</u> The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 1 shall embrace and include the following counties: Craig, Delaware, Mayes, Nowata, Ottawa, Rogers, Tulsa, and Wagoner. Congressional District No. 1;
- 2. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 2 shall embrace and include the following counties: Adair, Cherokee, Cleveland, Creek, Kay, Lincoln, Logan, Muskogee, Noble, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Osage, Pawnee, Payne, Pottawatomie, and Washington. Congressional District No. 3;
- 3. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 3 shall embrace and include the following counties: Atoka, Bryan, Carter, Coal, Choctaw, Garvin, Grady, Haskell, Hughes, Jefferson, Johnston, Latimer, Leflore, Love, Marshall, McClain, McCurtain, McIntosh, Murray, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pushmataha, Seminole, Sequoyah, and Stephens. Congressional District No. 2;
- $\underline{4.}$  The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 4 shall embrace and include the following counties: Canadian and Oklahoma. Congressional District No. 5; and

- <u>5.</u> The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 5 shall embrace and include Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Cimarron, Comanche, Cotton, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grant, Greer, Harmon, Harper, Jackson, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Major, Roger Mills, Texas, Tillman, Washita, Woods, and Woodward Congressional District No. 4.
- C. Each Judge in office on July 1, 2020, shall serve the term for which the Judge was appointed or retained in office by retention ballot and until his or her successor is appointed and qualified, unless the Judge vacates the office prior to the end of his or her term or is removed from office as provided by law. Any Judge in office on July 1, 2020, shall be eligible for retention in the same office for succeeding terms.

SECTION 4. This act shall become effective January 1, 2020.

Passed the House of Representatives the 6th day of March, 2019.

Presiding Officer of the House of Representatives

Passed the Senate the 17th day of April, 2019.

Presiding Officer of the Senate

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR					
	Received by	the Office of the	Governor this	3	
day	of	, 20	, at	o'clock	M.
By:			·		
	Approved by the Governor of the State of Oklahoma this				
day	of	, 20	, at	o'clock	M.
	Governor of the State of Oklahoma				
	OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE				
	Received by the Office of the Secretary of State this				
day	of	, 20	, at	o'clock	M.
Ву:					