1	STATE OF OKLAHOMA
2	1st Session of the 57th Legislature (2019)
3	COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE
4	FOR HOUSE BILL NO. 2366 By: Kannady
5	
6	
7	COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE
8	An Act relating to courts; amending 20 O.S. 2011, Sections 1 and 2, which relate to the Supreme Court;
9	clarifying terms of office; modifying Supreme Court Judicial Districts; providing that current Justices retain office and are eligible for retention;
11	amending 20 O.S. 2011, Section 33, which relates to the Court of Criminal Appeals; modifying Court of Criminal Appeals judicial districts; providing that
12	current Judges retain office and are eligible for retention; and providing an effective date.
13	
14	
15	BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA:
16	SECTION 1. AMENDATORY 20 O.S. 2011, Section 1, is
17	amended to read as follows:
18	Section 1. The Supreme Court shall consist of nine (9) justices
19	Justices. Immediately upon the passage and approval of this act,
20	the Governor shall appoint by and with the advice and consent of the
21	Senate one Justice of the Supreme Court from each of the four
22	additional Supreme Court judicial districts hereby created, each of
23	whom shall serve until the second Monday in January, 1919, Each
24	Justice in office on July 1, 2020, shall serve the term for which

Req. No. 8100 Page 1

```
1
    the Justice was appointed or retained in office by retention ballot
    and until his or her successor is elected appointed and qualified,
 3
    unless the Justice vacates the office prior to the end of his or her
 4
    term or is removed from office as provided by law. Any Justice in
 5
    office on July 1, 2020, shall be eligible for retention in the same
 6
    office for succeeding terms.
 7
        SECTION 2. AMENDATORY 20 O.S. 2011, Section 2, is
 8
    amended to read as follows:
 9
        Section 2. The Beginning July 1, 2020:
10
        1. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 1 shall embrace and
11
    include the following counties: Ottawa, Craig, Nowata, Rogers,
12
    Washington, Osage, Pawnee, Kay and Grant. Congressional District No.
    2 as constituted on January 8, 2019;
13
14
        The 2. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 2 shall embrace and
15
    include the following counties: LeFlore, Haskell, Pittsburg,
16
    Latimer, Pushmataha, McCurtain, Choctaw, Bryan, Marshall, Johnston,
17
    Atoka, McIntosh and Sequoyah. be an at-large district;
```

The <u>3.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 3 shall embrace and include the following county: Oklahoma. Congressional District No. <u>5 as constituted on January 8, 2019;</u>

21

22

23

24

The <u>4.</u> Supreme Court Judicial District No. 4 shall embrace and include the following counties: Beckham, Dewey, Roger Mills, Ellis, Woodward, Woods, Major, Harper, Beaver, Texas, Cimarron, Alfalfa,

Req. No. 8100 Page 2

```
1
    Garfield, Kingfisher, Blaine, Custer and Washita. Congressional
    District No. 3 as constituted on January 8, 2019;
 3
        The 5. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 5 shall embrace and
 4
    include the following counties: Cleveland, McClain, Garvin, Murray,
    Carter, Love, Grady, Stephens and Jefferson. Congressional District
 5
    No. 4 as constituted on January 8, 2019;
 6
 7
        The 6. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 6 shall embrace and
    include the following county: Tulsa. Congressional District No. 1
 8
 9
    as constituted on January 8, 2019;
10
        The 7. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 7 shall embrace and
    include the following counties: Muskogee, Creek, Okmulgee, Wagoner,
11
12
    Cherokee, Adair, Delaware and Mayes. be an at-large district;
13
        The 8. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 8 shall embrace and
14
    include the following counties: Pottawatomie, Seminole, Hughes,
15
    Pontotoc, Coal, Okfuskee, Lincoln, Logan, Payne and Noble. be an at-
16
    large district; and
17
        The 9. Supreme Court Judicial District No. 9 shall embrace and
18
    include the following counties: Kiowa, Jackson, Tillman, Harmon,
19
    Cotton, Comanche, Caddo, Greer and Canadian be an at-large district.
20
        SECTION 3. AMENDATORY 20 O.S. 2011, Section 33, is
21
    amended to read as follows:
22
        Section 33. A. The state is hereby divided into five (5) Court
```

Req. No. 8100 Page 3

each of said districts candidates for Judge of the Court of Criminal

of Criminal Appeals judicial districts Judicial Districts. From

23

24

```
Appeals shall be nominated and appointed in the manner provided by

Article VII-B of the Oklahoma Constitution. All Judges of the Court

of Criminal Appeals may seek retention in office pursuant to the

provisions of Section 2 of Article VII-B of the Oklahoma

Constitution and each Judge shall be voted for by the qualified
```

voters of the state at-large.

- B. Beginning July 1, 2020, the boundaries of the Court of

 Criminal Appeals Judicial Districts shall be the boundaries of the

 five Oklahoma Congressional Districts as constituted on January 8,

 2019, as follows:
- 1. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 1 shall embrace and include the following counties: Craig, Delaware, Mayes, Nowata, Ottawa, Rogers, Tulsa, and Wagoner. Congressional District No. 1;
 - 2. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 2 shall embrace and include the following counties: Adair, Cherokee, Cleveland, Creek, Kay, Lincoln, Logan, Muskogee, Noble, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Osage, Pawnee, Payne, Pottawatomie, and Washington.
 Congressional District No. 3;
 - 3. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 3 shall embrace and include the following counties: Atoka, Bryan, Carter, Coal, Choctaw, Garvin, Grady, Haskell, Hughes, Jefferson, Johnston, Latimer, Leflore, Love, Marshall, McClain, McCurtain, McIntosh,

Req. No. 8100 Page 4

```
1
    Murray, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pushmataha, Seminole, Sequoyah, and
 2
    Stephens. Congressional District No. 2;
 3
        4. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 4 shall
 4
    embrace and include the following counties: Canadian and Oklahoma.
 5
    Congressional District No. 5; and
 6
        5. The Court of Criminal Appeals Judicial District No. 5 shall
 7
    embrace and include Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo,
    Cimarron, Comanche, Cotton, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grant,
 8
 9
    Greer, Harmon, Harper, Jackson, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Major, Roger
10
    Mills, Texas, Tillman, Washita, Woods, and Woodward Congressional
11
    District No. 4.
12
        C. Each Judge in office on July 1, 2020, shall serve the term
13
    for which the Judge was appointed or retained in office by retention
14
    ballot and until his or her successor is appointed and qualified,
15
    unless the Judge vacates the office prior to the end of his or her
16
    term or is removed from office as provided by law. Any Judge in
17
    office on July 1, 2020, shall be eligible for retention in the same
18
    office for succeeding terms.
19
        SECTION 4. This act shall become effective January 1, 2020.
20
21
        57-1-8100
                  GRS
                              02/20/19
22
23
```

Req. No. 8100 Page 5

24