1	ENGROSSED HOUSE	
	BILL NO. 1016 By: Lawson, Sneed, and Sims of	
2	the House	
3	and	
4	Gollihare of the Senate	
5		
6		
7		
8	An Act relating to Route 66; amending Section 1,	
9	Chapter 412, O.S.L. 2022 (69 O.S. Supp. 2022, Section 4040), which relates to the Route 66 Commission; modifying the appointment of Commission members; and declaring an emergency.	
10		
11		
12		
13	BE IT ENACTED BY THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA:	
14	SECTION 1. AMENDATORY Section 1, Chapter 412, O.S.L.	
15	2022 (69 O.S. Supp. 2022, Section 4040), is amended to read as	
16	follows:	
17	Section 4040. A. There is hereby created until June 30, 2027,	
18	the Oklahoma Route 66 Commission. The Commission shall be composed	
19	of nine (9) members. The members shall serve as follows:	
20	1. One Five member members shall be appointed by the Governor	
21	and of which:	
22	<u>a.</u> one shall be selected from the Commissioners of the	
23	Oklahoma Tax Commission, whose first term shall be for	
24		
19 20 21 22 23	of nine (9) members. The members shall serve as follows:  1. One Five member members shall be appointed by the Governor and of which:  a. one shall be selected from the Commissioners of the	

1	L
2	2
	3
4	1
	5
(	ŝ
-	7
8	3
9	9
10	)
11	L
12	2
13	3
14	1
15	5
16	5
17	7
18	3
19	9
20	)
21	L
22	2

one (1) year, and then renewable for three-year terms thereafter;

## 2. One

<u>b.</u> one shall be the Executive Director of the Oklahoma
Department of Transportation, or his or her designee,
whose first term shall be for two (2) years, and then
renewable for three-year terms thereafter;

## 3. One

- <u>one</u> shall be the Executive Director of the Oklahoma Tourism and Recreation Department, or his or her designee, whose first term shall be for three (3) years, and then renewable for three-year terms thereafter:
- one shall be an Oklahoma citizen with expertise or experience in historic preservation, whose first term shall be for three (3) years, and then renewable for three-year terms thereafter, and
- e. one shall be an Oklahoma citizen with expertise or

  experience in marketing, whose first term shall be for

  three (3) years, and then renewable for three-year

  terms thereafter.
- $\frac{4.\ 2.}{2.}$  Three  $\underline{\text{Two}}$  members shall be appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Oklahoma State Senate of which:

24

23

2.1

- a. one shall be a citizen of a county containing a portion of Route 66, whose first term shall be for one(1) year, and renewable for three-year terms thereafter, and
- b. one shall be a city manager, assistant city manager, or economic development director for a municipality on Route 66 with a population greater than ten thousand (10,000), whose first term shall be for two (2) years, and renewable for three-year terms thereafter, and.
- experience in historic preservation, whose first term shall be for three (3) years, and then renewable for three-year terms thereafter; and
- 5. 3. Three Two members shall be appointed by the Speaker of the Oklahoma House of Representatives of which:
  - a. one shall be a citizen of a county containing a portion of Route 66, whose first term shall be for one(1) year, and then renewable for three-year terms thereafter,
  - b. one of whom shall be a business owner whose business is located along Route 66 within a city or town whose population is less than ten thousand (10,000), whose first term shall be for two (2) years, and then renewable for three-year terms thereafter, and.

1	c. one shall be an Oklahoma citizen with expertise or
2	experience in marketing, whose first term shall be for
3	three (3) years, and then renewable for three-year
4	terms thereafter.
5	B. The Commission shall utilize the Oklahoma Route 66
6	Commission Revolving Fund as authorized in Section $\frac{2}{4041}$ of this
7	act title.
8	SECTION 2. It being immediately necessary for the preservation
9	of the public peace, health or safety, an emergency is hereby
10	declared to exist, by reason whereof this act shall take effect and
11	be in full force from and after its passage and approval.
12	Passed the House of Representatives the 14th day of March, 2023.
13	
14	Durai di un Offica de tha Harra
15	Presiding Officer of the House of Representatives
16	
17	Passed the Senate the day of, 2023.
18	
19	Presiding Officer of the Senate
20	riesiding Officer of the Senace
21	
22	
23	
24	