## **SENATOR BUEHRER**

## Honoring the Defiance High School boys 4x800-meter relay team on winning the 2009 Division II State Championship.

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to extend special recognition to the Defiance High School boys 4x800-meter relay team as the 2009 Division II State Champion; and

WHEREAS, The Defiance High School boys 4x800-meter relay team is, indeed, to be heartily commended, for it has decisively earned this year's Division II state title. Without exception, members Sebastion Brown, Trevin Flickinger, Zach Wiles, and Sean Murray prepared conscientiously in pursuit of the championship, devoting countless hours to training and practice in order to ensure peak conditioning; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Defiance High School boys 4x800-meter team have epitomized the power, poise, and precision that befit authentic champions. Time and again, these fine young athletes have risen to the occasion, amply demonstrating their unflagging determination, and their impressive maturity and finesse have earned them widespread respect, even among their staunchest rivals; and

WHEREAS, By prevailing over numerous adversaries, the members of the Defiance High School boys 4x800-meter relay team have learned much about dedication, self-discipline, leadership, and perseverance. Their first-place finish reflects their strong commitment to the sport, and their indomitable team spirit has made their families, friends, and mentor, Coach Steve Rittenour, extremely proud; therefore be it

**RESOLVED,** That we, the members of the Senate of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, congratulate the Defiance High School boys 4x800-meter relay team on its success and extend best wishes for the future; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to the Defiance High School boys 4x800-meter relay team.

I, Vincent L. Keeran, hereby certify that the above is a true and correct copy of Senate Resolution No. 85, adopted by the Ohio Senate, July 9, 2009.

Vincent L. Keeran Clerk of the Senate

Senator Bill Harris President of the Senate

Senator Steve Buehrer Senatorial District No. 1