## SENATORS STEWART - SCHAFFER

## Honoring Dr. John Light on his retirement as president of Hocking College.

WHEREAS, The members of the Senate of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to pay tribute to Dr. John Light on his exemplary service as president of Hocking College; and

WHEREAS, John Light has fulfilled a multitude of responsibilities with impressive competence throughout his distinguished career in higher education. The founder of Hocking College, he has served as president since 1968, and under his capable leadership, he was instrumental in developing collaborative agreements with colleges located in Asia, Europe, and the Caribbean and supporting various rural projects, including the Ford Foundation Rural Community College Initiative and the Advanced Energy Institute in Hocking County; and

WHEREAS, Whether occupying center stage or playing a key role in the wings, John Light always made his dynamic presence felt. Over the years, he has worked diligently to foster academics and growth, and as a result, Hocking College now serves more than 5,500 students and offers 39 associate degree programs. He can be proud that his commitment to the college has impelled many to dedicate themselves similarly; and

WHEREAS, The enthusiasm and expertise John Light has shown in his endeavors have gained him the appreciation and esteem of others. We are proud to note that it is through the unsurpassed efforts of diligent people such as he that the State of Ohio continues to grow and prosper; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the Senate of the 128th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, applicated Dr. John Light on his innumerable contributions to Hocking College and extend best wishes for a happy, healthy retirement; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the Senate transmit a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to Dr. John Light.

I, Vincent L. Keeran, hereby certify that the above is rue and correct copy of Senate Resolution No. 74, adopted be Ohio Senate, June 23, 2009.	
	Vincent L. Keeran
	Clerk of the Senate
	Senator Bill Harris
	President of the Senate
	Senator Jimmy Stewart
	Senatorial District No. 20
	Senator Tim Schaffer
	Senatorial District No. 31