REPRESENTATIVES CARNEY - BRENNER - DUFFEY - GARLAND - GONZALES - STEBELTON

Honoring the Northeast Storm hockey club as the 2011 Ohio High School Club Hockey Champion.

WHEREAS, The members of the House of Representatives of the 129th General Assembly of Ohio are pleased to congratulate the Northeast Storm hockey club on winning the 2011 Ohio High School Club Hockey Championship; and

WHEREAS, A remarkable group of young athletes, the members of the Northeast Storm hockey club have combined talent and competitive spirit with the highest ideals of good sportsmanship to establish themselves as a truly exceptional squad. With admirable dedication, Cameron Ballew, Daniel Bloch, Tyler Brumfield, Hayden Cook, Kohl Fixari, Steven Fry, Brady Kiehl, Collin Laviola, Matt Maldovan, Bryce Mason, Ryan Mayo, Matt Nemec, Zach Sevenish, Daniel Smith, Zach Turner, Ryan Wickiser, Tyler Wickiser, and T.J. Williams have worked diligently toward attaining ultimate proficiency in hockey, and as a result, they defeated a tough Newark Generals team by the score of 2-1 to win this year's Ohio High School Club Hockey Championship and the Buckeye Cup and qualified for the USA Hockey National High School Championship, where they placed sixth; and

WHEREAS, The achievements and leadership of the Northeast Storm hockey club are a justifiable source of pride and an excellent reflection on the players, their families, their community, and their coaches. The success of any athletic endeavor depends largely on the ability of the coaches to provide both guidance and inspiration, and in leading their team to victory, Coach Mark Fixari and his assistants, Ben Weisbuch and Andrew Kieta, have not only helped each athlete to develop his talents to the fullest but also instilled in each a valuable sense of determination, perseverance, and camaraderie; and

WHEREAS, With athletic competition playing such an important role in the total education of our young people, we are extremely pleased to pay tribute to these exemplary athletes and their outstanding coaches, as well as the team managers, Deb Ballew and Frances Bloch, and club president, Brad Cook, for a job well done. The maturity and experience the players have gained through participation in sports will greatly aid them in meeting the challenges of the future; therefore be it

RESOLVED, That we, the members of the House of Representatives of the 129th General Assembly of Ohio, in adopting this Resolution, commend the Northeast Storm hockey club on its tremendous season and salute the players, coaches, managers, and president as some of Ohio's finest citizens; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the House of Representatives transmit a duly authenticated copy of this Resolution to the Northeast Storm hockey club.