As Reported by the House State and Local Government Committee

134th General Assembly Regular Session 2021-2022

H. C. R. No. 13

Representatives Koehler, Creech

Cosponsors: Representatives Wiggam, Stewart, Bird, Seitz, Kick, Ghanbari, Gross, Fowler Arthur, McClain, Riedel, Jones, Ray, Lanese, Carruthers, Stein, John

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To urge Congress to enact The Sunshine Protect	ion Act of 1
2021, which would make daylight saving time	the 2
permanent standard time.	3

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF OHIO (THE SENATE CONCURRING):

WHEREAS, The Congress of the United States first adopted 4 daylight saving time during World War I to support war 5 industries. In addition, continuous daylight saving time was 6 observed during World War II, referred to as War Time, and 7 during the 1973 oil crisis; and 8 WHEREAS, The benefits of daylight saving time include 9 additional daylight in the evening hours, increased outdoor 10 playtime for the children and youth, expanded economic 11 opportunities, energy savings, improved traffic safety, and 12 crime reduction; and 13 14

WHEREAS, States are currently precluded from establishing14permanent daylight saving time by federal law, which requires15the United States Secretary of Transportation to enforce uniform16application of that law across all time zones (certain states,17such as Arizona, previously opted out of daylight saving time);18

H. C. R. No. 13 As Reported by the House State and Local Government Committee

Page 2

and

19

WHEREAS, The Sunshine Protection Act of 2021 (H.R. 69),	20
introduced in the 117th Congress, would institute permanent	21
daylight saving time nationwide; now therefore be it	22
RESOLVED, That we, the members of the 134th General	23
Assembly of the State of Ohio, urge the Congress of the United	24
States to enact The Sunshine Protection Act of 2021 (H.R. 69);	25
and be it further	26
RESOLVED, That the Clerk of the House of Representatives	27
transmit duly authenticated copies of this resolution to the	28
President of the United States, President Pro Tempore and	29
Secretary of the United States Senate, the Speaker and Clerk of	30
the United States House of Representatives, the members of the	31
Ohio Congressional delegation, and the news media of Ohio.	32