Bill Text: NY S01871 | 2021-2022 | General Assembly | Introduced

Bill Title: Makes certain state lands in the towns of Albion, Amboy, Boylston, Constantia, Parish, West Monroe and Williamstown, in the county of Oswego subject to taxation for all purposes.

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Republican 1-0)

Status: (Introduced) 2021-01-16 - REFERRED TO LOCAL GOVERNMENT [S01871 Detail]

Download: New_York-2021-S01871-Introduced.html

                STATE OF NEW YORK


                               2021-2022 Regular Sessions

                    IN SENATE

                                    January 16, 2021

        Introduced  by  Sen. RITCHIE -- read twice and ordered printed, and when
          printed to be committed to the Committee on Local Government

        AN ACT to amend the real property tax law, in relation to certain  state
          lands in the county of Oswego which shall be subject to taxation

          The  People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assem-
        bly, do enact as follows:

     1    Section 1. Subdivision (g) of section 532 of  the  real  property  tax
     2  law,  as  amended by chapter 196 of the laws of 2018, is amended to read
     3  as follows:
     4    (g) All lands owned by the state,  including  lands  leased  from  the
     5  United  States for a term of fifty years or more, for use by the conser-
     6  vation department as a fish hatchery, game farm, game  management  area,
     7  game refuge or for reforestation purposes, exclusive of the improvements
     8  erected thereon by the state, in the following towns:

     9        County                        Town

    10        Chenango                     Otselic
    11                                     Pharsalia
    12                                     Sherburne
    13        Jefferson                    Antwerp
    14                                     Brownville
    15                                     Lorraine
    16                                     Worth
    17        Lewis                        Montague
    18        Livingston                   Conesus
    19                                     Livonia
    20                                     Springwater
    21                                     West Sparta
    22        Ontario                      Canadice

         EXPLANATION--Matter in italics (underscored) is new; matter in brackets
                              [ ] is old law to be omitted.

        S. 1871                             2

     1                                     Richmond
     2        Oswego                       Albion
     3                                     Amboy
     4                                     Boylston
     5                                     Constantia
     6                                     Parish
     7                                     Redfield
     8                                     West Monroe
     9                                     Williamstown
    10        Otsego                       Morris
    11                                     Pittsfield
    12        Rensselaer                   Berlin
    13                                     Stephentown
    14        Steuben                      Wayland
    15        Washington                   Argyle
    16                                     Ft. Edward
    17                                     Kingsbury
    18        Yates                        Italy

    19    Except,  however,  for the towns of Conesus, Canadice and Richmond the
    20  provisions of this subdivision shall only apply to lands acquired by the
    21  state on or after December fifteenth, nineteen hundred eighty-nine.
    22    § 2. This act shall take effect on the first of January next  succeed-
    23  ing  the  date  on  which  it shall have become a law and shall apply to
    24  assessment rolls prepared on the basis of taxable status dates occurring
    25  on or after such date.