NY A01834 | 2019-2020 | General Assembly


Spectrum: Slight Partisan Bill (Democrat 49-29)
Status: Introduced on January 17 2019 - 25% progression
Action: 2019-01-17 - referred to agriculture
Pending: Assembly Agriculture Committee
Text: Latest bill text (Introduced) [HTML]


Enacts "Kirby and Quigley's Law"; expands the definition of aggravated cruelty to animals to include harm to a companion animal during the commission of a felony.

Tracking Information

Register now for our free OneVote public service or GAITS Professional trial account and you can begin tracking this and other legislation, all driven by the real-time data of the LegiScan API. Providing tools allowing you to research pending legislation, stay informed with email alerts, content feeds, and share dynamic reports. Use our new PolitiCorps to join with friends and collegaues to monitor & discuss bills through the process.

Monitor Legislation or view this same bill number from multiple sessions or take advantage of our national legislative search.


Enacts "Kirby and Quigley's Law"; expands the definition of aggravated cruelty to animals to include harm to a companion animal during the commission of a felony.


Asm. Angelo Santabarbara [D]Asm. Mary Walsh [R]Asm. Edward Ra [R]Asm. Donna Lupardo [D]
Asm. Kevin Byrne [R]Asm. David McDonough [R]Asm. Linda Rosenthal [D]Asm. Jose Rivera [D]
Asm. Charles Lavine [D]Asm. Peter Abbate [D]Asm. Ellen Jaffee [D]Asm. Deborah Glick [D]
Asm. Harry Bronson [D]Asm. Albert Stirpe [D]Asm. William Colton [D]Asm. Rebecca Seawright [D]
Asm. Michael Miller [D]Asm. Gary Pretlow [D]Asm. Mark Johns [R]Asm. Michael Blake [D]
Asm. Pamela Hunter [D]Asm. Victor Pichardo [D]Asm. Fred Thiele [D]Asm. Michael Cusick [D]
Asm. Maritza Davila [D]Asm. Steven Englebright [D]Asm. Vivian Cook [D]Asm. Anthony D'Urso [D]
Asm. Felix Ortiz [D]Asm. Steven Otis [D]Asm. Mark Weprin [D]Asm. Amy Paulin [D]
Asm. Aileen Gunther [D]Asm. Sandra Galef [D]Asm. Michael Benedetto [D]Asm. Daniel Stec [R]
Asm. Brian Miller [R]Asm. Kenneth Blankenbush [R]Asm. Michael Norris [R]Asm. Angelo Morinello [R]
Asm. Peter Lawrence [R]Asm. Michael Montesano [R]Asm. Andrew Garbarino [R]Asm. Joseph Giglio [R]
Asm. Karl Brabenec [R]Asm. Gary Finch [R]Asm. Andrew Raia [R]Asm. Clifford Crouch [R]
Asm. Walter Mosley [D]Asm. Anthony Palumbo [R]Asm. D. Billy Jones [D]Asm. Stephen Hawley [R]
Asm. Melissa Miller [R]Asm. Nicole Malliotakis [R]Asm. David DiPietro [R]Asm. Michael Fitzpatrick [R]
Asm. Kieran Lalor [R]Asm. William Barclay [R]Asm. Philip Palmesano [R]Asm. Didi Barrett [D]
Asm. Barbara Lifton [D]Asm. Patricia Fahy [D]Asm. Andrew Hevesi [D]Asm. Inez Dickens [D]
Asm. Brian Barnwell [D]Asm. David Buchwald [D]Asm. Michele Titus [D]Asm. Jaime Williams [D]
Asm. Brian Kolb [R]Asm. Jeffrey Dinowitz [D]Asm. Robert Rodriguez [D]Asm. Clyde Vanel [D]
Asm. Diane Richardson [D]Asm. Michael DenDekker [D]Asm. Christopher Friend [R]Asm. Stacey Pheffer Amato [D]
Asm. Jo Simon [D]Asm. Carrie Woerner [D]


2019-01-17Assemblyreferred to agriculture

Same As/Similar To


New York State Sources

Bill Comments