NY A00778 | 2019-2020 | General Assembly


Completed Legislative Action
Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Democrat 64-0)
Status: Introduced on January 10 2019 - 25% progression
Action: 2019-01-14 - substituted by s1049
Text: Latest bill text (Introduced) [HTML]


Authorizes ballot by mail by removing cause for absentee ballot voting.

Tracking Information

Register now for our free OneVote public service or GAITS Professional trial account and you can begin tracking this and other legislation, all driven by the real-time data of the LegiScan API. Providing tools allowing you to research pending legislation, stay informed with email alerts, content feeds, and share dynamic reports. Use our new PolitiCorps to join with friends and collegaues to monitor & discuss bills through the process.

Monitor Legislation or view this same bill number from multiple sessions or take advantage of our national legislative search.


Authorizes ballot by mail by removing cause for absentee ballot voting.


Asm. Clyde Vanel [D]Asm. Charles Lavine [D]Asm. Carl Heastie [D]Asm. Michael Cusick [D]
Asm. Donna Lupardo [D]Asm. Richard Gottfried [D]Asm. Amy Paulin [D]Asm. Jeffrion Aubry [D]
Asm. Aravella Simotas [D]Asm. Sandra Galef [D]Asm. Barbara Lifton [D]Asm. Thomas Abinanti [D]
Asm. Kenneth Zebrowski [D]Asm. William Colton [D]Asm. Robert Carroll [D]Asm. Mark Weprin [D]
Asm. Brian Barnwell [D]Asm. Rebecca Seawright [D]Asm. Philip Ramos [D]Asm. Jo Simon [D]
Asm. Steven Otis [D]Asm. Deborah Glick [D]Asm. Robin Schimminger [D]Asm. Jeffrey Dinowitz [D]
Asm. D. Billy Jones [D]Asm. David Buchwald [D]Asm. Linda Rosenthal [D]Asm. Monica Wallace [D]
Asm. Steven Englebright [D]Asm. Ellen Jaffee [D]Asm. Alicia Hyndman [D]Asm. Patrick Burke [D]
Asm. Catalina Cruz [D]Asm. Simcha Eichenstein [D]Asm. Harvey Epstein [D]Asm. Charles Fall [D]
Asm. Judy Griffin [D]Asm. Jonathan Jacobson [D]Asm. Karen McMahon [D]Asm. Taylor Raynor [D]
Asm. Karines Reyes [D]Asm. Jamie Romeo [D]Asm. Helene Weinstein [D]Asm. Michael Blake [D]
Asm. Michael DenDekker [D]Asm. Mathylde Frontus [D]Asm. Alfred Taylor [D]Asm. David Gantt [D]
Asm. Joseph Lentol [D]Asm. Daniel Rosenthal [D]Asm. Steve Stern [D]Asm. Carmen De La Rosa [D]
Asm. Anthony D'Urso [D]Asm. Marianne Buttenschon [D]Asm. Inez Dickens [D]Asm. Pamela Hunter [D]
Asm. Nily Rozic [D]Asm. Ron Kim [D]Asm. Rodneyse Bichotte [D]Asm. Harry Bronson [D]
Asm. Catherine Nolan [D]Asm. Nick Perry [D]Asm. Nader Sayegh [D]Asm. Fred Thiele [D]

Roll Calls

2019-01-14 - Assembly - Assembly Judiciary Committee: Favorable refer to committee Rules (Y: 20 N: 1 NV: 0 Abs: 0) [PASS]
2019-01-14 - Assembly - Assembly Rules Committee: Favorable (Y: 28 N: 0 NV: 0 Abs: 2) [PASS]
2019-01-14 - Assembly - Assembly Election Law Committee: Favorable refer to committee Judiciary (Y: 15 N: 0 NV: 0 Abs: 1) [PASS]


2019-01-14Assemblysubstituted by s1049
2019-01-14Assemblyrules report cal.7
2019-01-14Assemblyreported referred to rules
2019-01-14Assemblyreported referred to judiciary
2019-01-11Assemblyto attorney-general for opinion
2019-01-10Assemblyreferred to election law

Same As/Similar To

S00871 (Same As) 2019-02-07 - OPINION REFERRED TO JUDICIARY
S01049 (Same As) 2019-02-07 - OPINION REFERRED TO JUDICIARY

New York State Sources

Bill Comments