FILE NUMBER.....

SENATE RESOLUTION—Designating certain members of the Senate as regular and alternate members of the Legislative Commission for the 2015-2017 biennium.

RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF NEVADA, That, pursuant to the provisions of NRS 218E.150 and the Joint Standing Rules of the Legislature, Senators Michael Roberson, James A. Settelmeyer, Ben Kieckhefer, Aaron D. Ford, Kelvin Atkinson and Moises Denis are designated as the regular Senate members of the Legislative Commission; and be it further

RESOLVED, That Senators Joseph P. Hardy and Patricia Farley are designated as the first and second alternate members, respectively, for Senator Michael Roberson; Senators Pete Goicoechea and Donald G. Gustavson are designated as the first and second alternate members, respectively, for Senator James A. Settelmeyer; Senators Becky Harris and Greg Brower are designated as the first and second alternate members, respectively, for Senator Ben Kieckhefer; Senators Joyce Woodhouse and David R. Parks are designated as the first and second alternate members, respectively, for Senator Aaron D. Ford; Senators Tick Segerblom and Pat Spearman are designated as the first and second alternate members, respectively, for Senator Kelvin Atkinson; and Senators Mark A. Manendo and Debbie Smith are designated as the first and second alternate members, respectively, for Senator be it further

RESOLVED, That the procedure for requesting an alternate member to replace a regular member during his or her absence at a meeting must be as follows:

1. The Secretary of the Legislative Commission shall establish a record of service of alternate members at meetings of the Legislative Commission and shall maintain a list of the alternate members for each individual Senator or group of Senators. Each list must contain a numerical designation in ascending order for each alternate member on the list. The initial sequence in which the alternate members must be listed must correspond to their designation as alternates in this resolution.

2. If a regular member of the Legislative Commission is unable to attend a scheduled meeting of the Legislative Commission and notifies the Secretary of the Legislative Commission, the Secretary shall request the alternate member with the lowest numerical



designation on the appropriate list to replace the regular member at the meeting. If the alternate member does not agree to serve, the Secretary shall make the same request of the alternate member with the next higher numerical designation on the list, and so on through the list until an alternate member agrees to replace the regular member.

3. An alternate member who agrees to replace a regular member at a meeting of the Legislative Commission loses the numerical designation he or she had on the appropriate list at the time he or she was requested to serve. The Secretary of the Legislative Commission shall, when the alternate member agrees to replace the regular member, assign to that alternate member the highest numerical designation on the appropriate list. At the same time, the Secretary shall also reduce by one the numerical designation on the appropriate list to those alternate members who have higher numerical designations on the appropriate list than the alternate member who has agreed to serve.

4. An alternate member who is requested to replace a regular member at a meeting of the Legislative Commission, but who does not agree to replace the regular member, does not lose the numerical designation he or she had on the appropriate list at the time of the request.

20 ~~~~ 15



