### SENATE BILL NO. 23-COMMITTEE ON NATURAL RESOURCES

# (ON BEHALF OF THE STATE DEPARTMENT OF CONSERVATION AND NATURAL RESOURCES)

### PREFILED NOVEMBER 18, 2020

#### Referred to Committee on Natural Resources

SUMMARY—Revises provisions relating to the State Conservation Commission. (BDR 49-308)

FISCAL NOTE: Effect on Local Government: No. Effect on the State: No.

EXPLANATION - Matter in bolded italics is new; matter between brackets [omitted material] is material to be omitted.

AN ACT relating to conservation; revising the boundaries of the areas from which certain members of the State Conservation Commission are appointed; and providing other matters properly relating thereto.

#### **Legislative Counsel's Digest:**

Existing law creates the State Conservation Commission, which has various powers and duties relating to conservation of the renewable natural resources of Nevada, including assisting conservation districts. (NRS 548.115, 548.175) The Commission is comprised of two ex officio members and seven appointed members, six of whom are appointed from three designated areas and one of whom is appointed at large from any of the three areas. (NRS 548.115, 548.125) Existing law also designates the boundaries of the three areas, consisting of counties, from which the six members are appointed. (NRS 548.125) This bill moves Mineral County from "Area 3," which also includes Clark, Esmeralda, Lincoln, Nye and White Pine Counties, to "Area 2," which includes Carson City and Churchill, Douglas, Lyon, Storey and Washoe Counties.

## THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF NEVADA, REPRESENTED IN SENATE AND ASSEMBLY, DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS:

- **Section 1.** NRS 548.125 is hereby amended to read as follows: 548.125 1. For the purposes of this section:
- (a) Area 1 consists of Elko, Eureka, Humboldt, Lander and Pershing Counties.



10

1

2

3



- (b) Area 2 consists of Carson City and Churchill, Douglas, Lyon, *Mineral*, Storey and Washoe Counties.
- (c) Area 3 consists of Clark, Esmeralda, Lincoln, [Mineral,] Nye and White Pine Counties.
- 2. Not later than September 1, 1973, the Nevada Association of Conservation Districts shall submit to the Governor a list of at least 15 persons, no more than one of whom resides in any one county or conservation district. The list shall include five persons from each of the areas designated in subsection 1.
- 3. The Governor shall appoint to the Commission one person from each area for a term of 2 years, one person from each area for a term of 4 years, and a member at large, from any area, for a term of 4 years. Upon the expiration of these initial terms, each member shall be appointed for a term of 4 years, except to fill a vacancy for the unexpired term.
- 4. At least 60 days prior to the expiration of each group of terms, the Nevada Association of Conservation Districts shall submit to the Governor a list of at least nine persons, no more than one of whom resides in any one county or conservation district. The list shall include three persons from each of the areas designated in subsection 1. The Governor shall appoint a person from the same area to succeed each member whose term expires, except that the successor of the member at large may be from any area.
- 5. Any appointed member who fails to attend three consecutive, regular meetings of the Commission shall, at the recommendation of the Commission, be replaced for the balance of such member's term of office.
- 6. Vacancies shall be filled by appointment by the Governor from the names on the last list presented to the Governor by the Nevada Association of Conservation Districts.
  - Sec. 2. This act becomes effective upon passage and approval.





