FILE NUMBER.....

ASSEMBLY RESOLUTION—Adding former Assemblyman Lynn Hettrick to the Assembly Wall of Distinction.

WHEREAS, The Assembly of the Legislature of the State of Nevada has established a Wall of Distinction for those past members of the Assembly, selected by leadership, who served with great distinction and who made exemplary contributions to the State of Nevada; and

WHEREAS, Lynn C. Hettrick was born in Carmel, California, in 1944 and attended Claremont Men's College before pursuing a career as an entrepreneur and investment manager; and

WHEREAS, After moving to Gardnerville, Nevada, in 1970, Lynn Hettrick became deeply involved in the community and civic affairs; and

WHEREAS, In 1992, Lynn Hettrick was elected to the Nevada Assembly representing District 39 where he served with distinction for 14 years; and

WHEREAS, During the 1995 Session, the Assembly, for the first time in the history of Nevada, was evenly divided with 21 Republicans and 21 Democrats and Lynn Hettrick was elected as Co-Speaker, sharing that office with Assemblyman Joseph E. (Joe) Dini Jr.; and

WHEREAS, Despite the great potential for conflict, Lynn Hettrick led his party in a manner that made the 1995 Session become regarded as one of the least contentious and smoothest running sessions; and

WHEREAS, Lynn Hettrick went on to serve as Assembly Minority Floor Leader from 1997 to 2005; and

WHEREAS, During his service in the Assembly, Lynn Hettrick served on numerous standing committees, including 12 years on the Committee on Ways and Means and the Interim Finance Committee; and

WHEREAS, Lynn Hettrick represented Nevada on several national organizations, serving as Chair of the Council of State Governments (CSG) and of CSG West where he was instrumental in establishing the Western Legislative Academy to provide training for new legislators; and

WHEREAS, After leaving the Legislature, Lynn Hettrick went on to serve as Deputy Chief of Staff for former Governor Jim Gibbons; and



79th Session (2017)

WHEREAS, Lynn Hettrick was selected in 2008 by the Board of Regents of the University of Nevada to receive the Distinguished Nevadan award, an honor bestowed on prominent individuals for significant achievements in the cultural, scientific or social advancement of Nevada; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF NEVADA, That, for his 14 years of dedicated service to the Assembly, Lynn C. Hettrick is hereby added to the Assembly Wall of Distinction; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the Chief Clerk of the Assembly prepare and transmit a copy of this resolution to former Assemblyman Lynn C. Hettrick.

20 ~~~~ 17



79th Session (2017)