OF NEW MEXICO TO ALLOW COUNTY OFFICIALS TO SERVE THREE CONSECUTIVE TERMS INSTEAD OF TWO.

PROPOSING TO AMEND ARTICLE 10, SECTION 2 OF THE CONSTITUTION

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:

Section 1. It is proposed to amend Article 10, Section 2 of the constitution of New Mexico to read:

- "A. In every county all elected officials shall serve four-year terms, subject to the provisions of Subsection B of this section.
- B. In those counties that prior to 1992 have not had four-year terms for elected officials, the assessor, sheriff and probate judge shall be elected to four-year terms and the treasurer and clerk shall be elected to two-year terms in the first election following the adoption of this amendment. In subsequent elections, the treasurer and clerk shall be elected to four-year terms.
- C. To provide for staggered county commission terms, in counties with three county commissioners, the terms of no more than two commissioners shall expire in the same year; and in counties with five county commissioners, the terms of no more than three commissioners shall expire in the same year.
 - D. All county officers, after having served three

consecutive four-year terms, shall be ineligible to hold any county office for two years thereafter."

Section 2. The amendment proposed by this resolution shall be submitted to the people for their approval or rejection at the next general election or at any special election prior to that date that may be called for that purpose.

SJR 5 Page 2