Sixty-seventh Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

SENATE BILL NO. 2227

Introduced by

Senators Heckaman, Hogan, Oban

Representatives Boschee, Dobervich, Mitskog

1 A BILL for an Act to amend and reenact section 54-16-01 of the North Dakota Century Code,

2 relating to the members of the emergency commission.

3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Section 54-16-01 of the North Dakota Century Code is
amended and reenacted as follows:

6 54-16-01. Emergency commission - Members - Organization - Quorum - Meetings. 7 The emergency commission consists of the governor, the majority leaders of the senate and 8 house of representatives of the legislative assembly, the secretary of stateminority leaders of 9 the senate and house of representatives, and the chairmen of the senate and house of 10 representatives appropriations committees. If the chairman of an appropriations committee 11 ceases to be a member of the legislative assembly, the vice chairman of that committee 12 succeeds to that position on the commission. An appropriations committee vice chairman may 13 serve in the place of the appropriations committee chairman as a member of the commission at 14 the request of the appropriate appropriations committee chairman, if the appropriations 15 committee chairman is unable to attend a commission meeting. If a majority or minority leader 16 ceases to be a member of the legislative assembly, the respective house's assistant majority or 17 minority leader succeeds to that position on the commission. A majority or minority leader's 18 assistant majority or minority leader may serve as a member of the commission in the place of 19 the majority or minority leader at the request of the majority or minority leader if that majority or 20 minority leader is serving on the commission in another capacity or is unable to attend a 21 commission meeting. Four<u>A majority of the members of the commission constitute a quorum.</u> 22 The governor is theshall serve as chairman and the secretary of state is the secretary of the 23 commission. The commission shall meet at the call of the chairman.