## Sixty-sixth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Thursday, January 3, 2019

SENATE BILL NO. 2217 (Senator Schaible) (Representative Owens)

AN ACT to provide for a legislative management study of a teacher incentive for leadership program.

## BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

**SECTION 1. LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT STUDY - TEACHER INCENTIVE FOR LEADERSHIP PROGRAM.** During the 2019-20 interim, the legislative management shall consider studying the feasibility and desirability of creating a teacher incentive for leadership program. The study must include an evaluation of whether a program would improve student learning through improved instruction; reward effective teachers by providing increased leadership opportunities; attract new teachers to the state by offering competitive starting salaries and professional development; promote collaboration and new career pathways for teachers through mentoring, coaching, and project-based learning; and retain effective teachers through new career opportunities and advancement. The study also must include a review of the types of data to be tracked to determine the success of the program; the correlation and effectiveness of the program in relation to other teacher development programs; and how the program operates in relation to the statewide education strategic vision. The legislative management shall report its findings and recommendations, together with any legislation required to implement the recommendations, to the sixty-seventh legislative assembly.

## S. B. NO. 2217 - PAGE 2

	Preside	President of the Senate			Speaker of the House	
	Secreta	ary of the Senate		Chief Clerk of the House		
		I originated in the cords of that body		xty-sixth Legislative lo. 2217.	Assembly of North	
Senate Vote:	Yeas 46	Nays 1	Absent 0			
House Vote:	Yeas 79	Nays 12	Absent 3			
				Secretary of the S	enate	
Received by the Governor atM. on					, 2019.	
Approved atM. on					, 2019.	
				Governor		
Filed in this office thisday of				, 2019,		
at o	'clock	.M.				
				Secretary of State		