Sixty-second Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

SENATE BILL NO. 2162

Introduced by

Senators Nodland, Andrist, G. Lee

Representative Steiner

1 A BILL for an Act to create and enact section 57-38-29.4 of the North Dakota Century Code,

2 relating to a long-term care insurance premium individual income tax credit; to amend and

3 reenact subdivision p of subsection 7 of section 57-38-30.3 of the North Dakota Century Code,

4 relating to a long-term care insurance premiums individual income tax credit; to repeal section

5 57-38-29.3 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to the long-term care insurance

6 partnership plan premiums individual income tax credit; and to provide an effective date.

7 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

8 **SECTION 1.** Section 57-38-29.4 of the North Dakota Century Code is created and enacted 9 as follows:

10 <u>57-38-29.4. Credit for premiums for long-term care insurance coverage.</u>

11 <u>A credit against an individual's tax liability under this chapter is provided to each taxpayer in</u>

12 the amount of the premiums paid during the taxable year by the taxpayer for long-term care

13 insurance coverage for the taxpayer, the taxpayer's spouse, or both. The credit under this

14 section for each insured individual is up to two hundred fifty dollars in any taxable years for

15 long-term care insurance premiums or up to two hundred fifty dollars in any taxable year for

16 premiums for a qualified long-term care insurance contract as defined in section 26.1-45-01.

17 The credit allowed under this section may not exceed the taxpayer's tax liability.

18 SECTION 2. AMENDMENT. Subdivision p of subsection 7 of section 57-38-30.3 of the

19 North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

20 p. Long-term care partnership planinsurance premiums income tax credit under
21 section 57-38-29.357-38-29.4.

22 **SECTION 3. REPEAL.** Section 57-38-29.3 of the North Dakota Century Code is repealed.

23 SECTION 4. EFFECTIVE DATE. This Act is effective for taxable years beginning after

24 December 31, 2010.

Sixty-second Legislative Assembly