Sixty-third Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 8, 2013

SENATE BILL NO. 2047 (Legislative Management) (Tribal and State Relations Committee)

AN ACT to amend and reenact section 54-35-23 of the North Dakota Century Code, relating to the committee on tribal and state relations.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NORTH DAKOTA:

SECTION 1. AMENDMENT. Section 54-35-23 of the North Dakota Century Code is amended and reenacted as follows:

54-35-23. (Effective through July 31, 2013) Committee on tribal and state relations - Membership - Duties.

- 1. The committee on tribal and state relations is composed of seven members as follows:
 - a. A chairman designated by the chairman of the legislative management;
 - b. Three members of the house of representatives, two of whom must be selected by the leader representing the majority faction of the house of representatives and one of whom must be selected by the leader representing the minority faction of the house of representatives; and
 - c. Three members of the senate, two of whom must be selected by the leader representing the majority faction of the senate and one of whom must be selected by the leader representing the minority faction of the senate.
- 2. The committee shall meet at such times and places as determined by the chairman. The legislative council shall provide staffing for the committee.
- 3. The committee shall conduct joint meetings with the North Dakota tribal governments' task force to study tribal-state issues, including government-to-government relations, human services, education, corrections, and issues related to the promotion of economic development. During the 2011-12 interim, the committee also shall study whether themembers of the North Dakota tribal governments' task force should be voting members of the committee. After the joint meetings have concluded, the committee shall meet to prepare a report on its findings and recommendations, together with any legislation required to implement those recommendations, to the legislative management.
- 4. The members of the committee are entitled to compensation from the legislative council for attendance at committee meetings at the rate provided for members of the legislative assembly for attendance at interim committee meetings and are entitled to reimbursement for expenses incurred in attending the meetings in the amounts provided by law for other state officers.
- 5. a. The North Dakota tribal governments' task force is composed of six members as follows:
 - (1) The executive director of the Indian affairs commission, or the executive director's designee;
 - (2) The chairman of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, or the chairman's designee;
 - (3) The chairman of the Spirit Lake Tribe, or the chairman's designee;

- (4) The chairman of the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation, or the chairman's designee;
- (5) The chairman of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians, or the chairman's designee; and
- (6) The chairman of the Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate of the Lake Traverse Reservation, or the chairman's designee.
- b. If the executive director of the Indian affairs commission or any of the tribal chairmen appoint a designee to serve on the task force, only one individual may serve as that designee during the biennium. A substitute designee may be appointed by the executive director of the Indian affairs commission or a tribal chairman in the event of the death, incapacity, resignation, or refusal to serve of the initial designee.

S. B. NO. 2047 - PAGE 3

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

Secretary of the Senate

Chief Clerk of the House

This certifies that the within bill originated in the Senate of the Sixty-third Legislative Assembly of North Dakota and is known on the records of that body as Senate Bill No. 2047.

Senate Vote:	Yeas 47	Nays 0	Absent 0		
House Vote:	Yeas 85	Nays 9	Absent 0		
				Secretary of the Senate	
Received by the	e Governor at	M. on			_, 2013.
Approved at	M. on				<u>,</u> 2013.

Governor

Filed in this office this	day of	, 20	013,

at _____ o'clock _____M.

Secretary of State