Sixty-eighth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

## **HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 7001**

Introduced by

Memorial Resolutions Committee

- 1 A memorial resolution for deceased members of the House of Representatives of North Dakota.
- WHEREAS, God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:
- 3 Lynn William Aas, who served in the 40<sup>th</sup>, 41<sup>st</sup>, 50<sup>th</sup>, and 51<sup>st</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 4 District 5, died October 28, 2021;
- James Edward Froeber, who served in the 43<sup>rd</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 5, died
- 6 January 23, 2022;
- 7 Stephen Thomas "Bud" Gorman, Jr., who served in the 50<sup>th</sup> through the 54<sup>th</sup> Legislative
- 8 Assemblies, from District 46, died October 29, 2021;
- Jayson Leroy Graba, who served in the 49<sup>th</sup> through the 51<sup>st</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 10 District 43, died October 9, 2022;
- 11 George Joseph Keiser, who served in the 53<sup>rd</sup> through the 67<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 12 District 47, died December 22, 2021;
- Matthew M. Klein, who served in the 53<sup>rd</sup> through the 64<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 14 District 40, died January 30, 2023;
- Richard F. "Dick" Larsen, who served in the 39<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 7, died
- 16 August 27, 2022;
- 17 Ellis Gene Martin, who served in the 45<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 43, and in the
- 18 48<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assembly, from District 17-18, died September 22, 2022;
- 19 Stuart J. McDonald, who served in the 40<sup>th</sup> and 41<sup>st</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 18,
- 20 died October 2, 2021;
- 21 Marshall W. Moore, who served in the 47<sup>th</sup> through the 50<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 22 District 44, died March 12, 2022;
- Marvin Orlen "Marv" Mutzenberger, who served in the 52<sup>nd</sup> through the 54<sup>th</sup> Legislative
- 24 Assemblies, from District 32, died July 19, 2021;

- Donna Lou Speer Nalewaja, who served in the 48th and 49th Legislative Assemblies, from
- 2 District 45, died September 30, 2021;
- 3 Carol Ann Oline Niemeier, who served in the 55<sup>th</sup> through the 58<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies,
- 4 from District 20, died December 14, 2021;
- 5 Duane Rau, who served in the 43<sup>rd</sup> through the 45<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 29,
- 6 died March 8, 2022;
- Arlo E. Schmidt, who served in the 54<sup>th</sup> through the 56<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 8 District 12, and in the 57<sup>th</sup> through the 61<sup>st</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 7, died
- 9 November 30, 2022;
- Calvin A. "Kelly" Shockman, who served in the 48<sup>th</sup> through the 51<sup>st</sup> Legislative Assemblies,
- 11 from District 28, died December 11, 2021;
- William Horton "Bill" Starke, who served in the 49<sup>th</sup> though the 52<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assemblies,
- 13 from District 12, died May 19, 2022;
- Wayne K. Stenehjem, who served in the 45<sup>th</sup> and 46<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 15 District 42, died January 28, 2022;
- 16 Earl S. Strinden, who served in the 40<sup>th</sup> through the 47<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 17 District 18, and in the 48<sup>th</sup> through the 50<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 17-18, died
- 18 October 18, 2022;
- 19 Gerald Orlando Sveen, who served in the 53<sup>rd</sup> through the 56<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 20 District 6, died September 23, 2021;
- 21 Elwood Clifton "Woody" Thorpe, who served in the 52<sup>nd</sup> and 53<sup>rd</sup> and in the 55<sup>th</sup> through the
- 22 61st Legislative Assemblies, from District 5, died March 29, 2021;
- Benjamin C. "Ben" Tollefson, who served in the 49<sup>th</sup> through the 52<sup>nd</sup> Legislative
- Assemblies, from District 40-50, and in the 53<sup>rd</sup> through the 56<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from
- 25 District 38, died December 16, 2021;
- Francis E. "Hank" Weber, who served in the 38th Legislative Assembly, from District 11, and
- in the 40<sup>th</sup> through the 46<sup>th</sup> Legislative Assemblies, from District 22, died October 27, 2022;
- Alon Carl Wieland, who served in the 58th through the 63rd Legislative Assemblies, from
- 29 District 13, died January 22, 2022;
- Joseph Richard Whalen, who served in the 47<sup>th</sup> through the 52<sup>nd</sup> Legislative Assemblies,
- 31 from District 39, died May 25, 2021;

14

1 Gerry Lynn Wilkie, who served in the 50th through the 55th Legislative Assemblies, from 2 District 9, died July 18, 2021; and 3 WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former House of Representatives 4 colleagues and to honor their memories; and 5 WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by 6 their contributions to public service; 7 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF 8 **NORTH DAKOTA:** 9 That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people 10 of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and 11 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of 12 respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the House of 13 Representatives and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the

surviving families of these deceased Representatives.