Sixty-fourth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

HOUSE MEMORIAL RESOLUTION NO. 7001

Introduced by

Memorial Resolutions Committee

- 1 A memorial resolution for deceased members of the House of Representatives of North Dakota.
- WHEREAS, God has welcomed to their eternal home our former colleagues:
- 3 Gordon Berg, who served in the 45th through the 47th Legislative Assemblies and in the 49th
- 4 through the 52nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 15, died May 25, 2013;
- 5 Donald L. Clark, who served in the 59th through the 62nd Legislative Assemblies, from
- 6 District 44, died January 22, 2015;
- Patricia DeMers, who served in the 50th and 51st Legislative Assemblies, from District 9,
- 8 died July 27, 2014;
- Dayle Dietz, who served in the 46th and 47th Legislative Assemblies, from District 25, died
- 10 November 25, 2013;
- Larry Erickson, who served in the 39th Legislative Assembly, from District 29, died July 10,
- 12 2014;
- James O. Fine, who served in the 34th Legislative Assembly, from District 20, died March 7,
- 14 2012;
- Howard Grumbo, who served in the 52nd through the 57th Legislative Assemblies, from
- 16 District 27, died February 6, 2015;
- William L. Guy, who served in the 36th Legislative Assembly, from District 11, died April 26,
- 18 2013;
- Virgil Haman, who served in the 42nd Legislative Assembly, from District 7, died July 7,
- 20 2013;
- Clarence Jaeger, who served in the 43rd and 44th Legislative Assemblies, from District 33,
- 22 died October 29, 2013;
- Joe Keller, who served in the 48th and 49th Legislative Assemblies, from District 33, died
- 24 October 23, 2013;

- 1 Ray Meyer, who served in the 48th through the 50th Legislative Assemblies and in the
- 2 52nd Legislative Assembly, from District 35, died July 29, 2013;
- 3 Mike Olienyk, who served in the 38th and 39th Legislative Assemblies, from District 31, and
- 4 in the 40th through the 42nd Legislative Assemblies, from District 37, died November 23, 2012;
- Joe Peltier, who served in the 46th through the 48th Legislative Assemblies, from District 22,
- 6 died January 12, 2014;
- 7 Elmer Retzer, who served in the 46th through the 49th Legislative Assemblies and in the
- 8 54th Legislative Assembly, from District 29, died September 1, 2013;
- 9 Claire A. Sandness, who served in the 40th through the 42nd Legislative Assemblies, from
- 10 District 27, died August 3, 2014;
- 11 Archie Shaw, who served in the 49th and 50th Legislative Assemblies, from District 34, died
- 12 March 9, 2013;
- Al Soukup, who served in the 51st through the 55th Legislative Assemblies, from District 44,
- 14 died October 30, 2013;
- Lynn J. (Jim) Thompson, who served in the 54th and 55th Legislative Assemblies, from
- 16 District 16, died October 7, 2013;
- 17 Dick Tokach, who served in the 50th and 51st Legislative Assemblies, from District 53, died
- 18 November 9, 2014;
- Malcolm S. Tweten, who served in the 43rd through the 46th Legislative Assemblies, from
- 20 District 20, died September 14, 2013;
- John Wall, who served in the 59th through the 63rd Legislative Assemblies, from District 25,
- 22 died July 18, 2014;
- WHEREAS, we now pause to mourn the passing of our former House of Representatives
- 24 colleagues and to honor their memories; and
- WHEREAS, these legislators rendered outstanding service to the people of the state by
- 26 their contributions to public service;
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF
- 28 **NORTH DAKOTA**:
- That we express our sorrow on their passing and our appreciation, on behalf of the people
- 30 of North Dakota, of the loyal and devoted service of our former colleagues; and

Sixty-fourth Legislative Assembly

- 1 **BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that for the perpetuation of their memory this token of
- 2 respect and sympathy by their successors in trust be printed in the Journal of the House of
- 3 Representatives and that the Secretary of State present enrolled copies of this resolution to the
- 4 surviving families of these deceased Representatives.