Sixty-fourth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 6, 2015

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 3031 (Representatives Mooney, Devlin, Hawken) (Senators Heckaman, Oehlke)

A concurrent resolution designating the third week in June as "North Dakota Share the Road Safety Week".

WHEREAS, walking, running, and bicycling provide an economical form of transportation, recreation, and physical exercise; and

WHEREAS, increasing numbers of residents in the state enjoy walking, running, and bicycling as a pleasant pastime while gaining the health benefits of an active lifestyle; and

WHEREAS, local and tribal communities enjoy the economic benefits of walking, running, and bicycling events; and

WHEREAS, knowledge and understanding of road safety issues, including injury prevention, the importance of laws and ordinances, and sharing the road with motorists, are necessary for pedestrians and bike riders of all ages and levels of experience; and

WHEREAS, the biking, walking, and running communities of North Dakota are eager to engage in recreational and educational activities and to partner in generating public awareness of the need to engage in safe practices for all types of traffic on our roads; and

WHEREAS, to mark the observance of "North Dakota Share the Road Safety Week", an effort to recognize those who have been killed or injured in collisions involving motor vehicles, bicycles, or pedestrians; promote the ideals of sharing our roads; and to develop and promote collaborative measures focused on safety, saving lives, and preventing injury on North Dakota road systems;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Sixty-fourth Legislative Assembly designates the third week of June as "North Dakota Share the Road Safety Week"; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this resolution be entered in the journal.

H. C. R. NO. 3031 - PAGE 2

	Speaker of the House	President of the Senate
	Chief Clerk of the House	Secretary of the Senate
Filed in this office this	day of	, 2015,
at o'clock	M.	

Secretary of State