Sixty-fourth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota In Regular Session Commencing Tuesday, January 6, 2015

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 3023 (Representatives Monson, D. Anderson, Damschen, Delmore, Hofstad, D. Johnson) (Senators Flakoll, O'Connell, Oehlke, Wardner)

A concurrent resolution declaring March 5, 2015, as "Canada Day in North Dakota".

WHEREAS, Canada and the United States share a rich and vibrant history of democratic governance, security and economic partnerships, and tourism and cultural ties; and

WHEREAS, Canada is the largest trade partner of the United States, and the number of Canadian tourists visiting this country, and North Dakota, exceeds the number from any other country; and

WHEREAS, North Dakota sells more goods to Canada than all other countries combined; and

WHEREAS, over one million Canadian visitors to North Dakota annually contribute \$280 million dollars to the North Dakota economy; and

WHEREAS, North Dakota and its neighboring Canadian provinces share common leading industries which are vital to the economies and people of our respective nations, including agriculture and energy development; and

WHEREAS, since 1932, the International Peace Garden has been a symbol of the friendship between two neighbors that share the world's longest unfortified border; and

WHEREAS, this July, Bismarck will host the Council of State Governments - Midwest Legislative Conference, which provides a forum for state and provincial legislators to work together on shared opportunities;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF NORTH DAKOTA, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN:

That the Sixty-fourth Legislative Assembly declares March 5, 2015, as "Canada Day in North Dakota"; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State forward a copy of this resolution to the Consulate General of Canada.

H. C. R. NO. 3023 - PAGE 2

 Speaker of the House
 President of the Senate

 Chief Clerk of the House
 Secretary of the Senate

 Filed in this office this ______day of ______, 2015, at ______ o'clock ______M.

Secretary of State