Sixty-fifth Legislative Assembly of North Dakota

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 3009

Introduced by

24

Representatives Brandenburg, Headland, Kempenich, Magrum, Weisz, Zubke Senators Erbele, Klein, Schaible, Sorvaag, Wanzek

1 A concurrent resolution urging Congress to amend the 2014 farm bill to allow counties to use 2 raw yield data from insurance companies to supplement the national agriculture statistics 3 survey to calculate payments under the Agriculture Risk Coverage program when an insufficient 4 number of surveys are returned to accurately calculate payments. 5 WHEREAS, the Agriculture Risk Coverage program was authorized by the 2014 federal 6 farm bill; and 7 WHEREAS, the Agriculture Loss Coverage-County program provides revenue loss 8 coverage at the county level when the actual crop revenue of a covered commodity is less than 9 the program guarantee for the covered commodity; and 10 WHEREAS, to qualify to receive payments, commodity producers in a county must 11 complete and return a national agriculture statistics survey relating to yields; and 12 WHEREAS, multiple counties and producers in North Dakota have not qualified and will not 13 receive payments under the program because there has been an insufficient number of yield 14 data surveys returned from the county to accurately calculate payments; 15 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF 16 NORTH DAKOTA, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN: 17 That the Sixty-fifth Legislative Assembly urges Congress to amend the 2014 farm bill to 18 allow counties to use raw yield data from insurance companies to supplement the national 19 agriculture statistics survey to calculate payments under the Agriculture Risk Coverage program 20 when an insufficient number of surveys are returned to accurately calculate payments; and 21 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State forward copies of this resolution 22 to each member of the North Dakota Congressional Delegation, the Majority and Minority 23 Leaders of the United States Senate and the United States House of Representatives, and the

Secretary of the United States Department of Agriculture.