Bill Text: NC H522 | 2017-2018 | Regular Session | Amended

Bill Title: Change the LOST Adjustment Factor

Spectrum: Partisan Bill (Republican 1-0)

Status: (Introduced) 2017-03-29 - Filed [H522 Detail]

Download: North_Carolina-2017-H522-Amended.html



H                                                                                                                                                    1




Short Title:      Change the LOST Adjustment Factor.



Representative Lewis.

For a complete list of sponsors, refer to the North Carolina General Assembly web site.

Referred to:


March 30, 2017


AN ACT to change the local option saleS tax (LOST) adjustment factor to one that varies by economic development tiers.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1.  G.S. 105‑486(b) reads as rewritten:

"(b)      Adjustment. The Secretary shall then adjust the amount allocated to each county under subsection (a) by multiplying the amount by the appropriate adjustment factor set out in the table below. The adjustment factor is based on the development tier designation of the county under G.S. 143B‑437.08. The development tier designation of a county is effective for the fiscal year following the designation. If, after applying the adjustment factors, the resulting total of the amounts allocated is greater or lesser than the net proceeds to be distributed, the amount allocated to each county shall be proportionally adjusted to eliminate the excess or shortage.

CountyArea Development Tier                                                                      Adjustment Factor

Development tier one                                                                                                                  1.10

Development tier two                                                                                                                 1.00

Development tier three                                                                                                               0.90

Dare                                                                                                                                            1.49

Brunswick                                                                                                                                   1.17

Orange                                                                                                                                        1.15

Carteret and Durham                                                                                                                  1.14

Avery                                                                                                                                          1.12

Moore                                                                                                                                          1.11

Transylvania                                                                                                                                1.10

Chowan, McDowell, and Richmond                                                                                          1.09

Pitt and New Hanover                                                                                                                1.07

Beaufort, Perquimans, Buncombe, and Watauga                                                                       1.06

Cabarrus, Jackson, and Surry                                                                                                      1.05

Alleghany, Bladen, Robeson, Washington, Craven, Henderson,                                               1.04

       Onslow, and Vance

Gaston, Granville, and Martin                                                                                                    1.03

Alamance, Burke, Caldwell, Chatham, Duplin, Edgecombe,                                                    1.02

       Haywood, Swain, and Wilkes

Hertford, Union, Stokes, Yancey, Halifax, Rockingham, and                                                   1.01


Alexander, Anson, Johnston, Northampton, Pasquotank, Person,                                             1.00

       Polk, and Yadkin

Catawba, Harnett, Iredell, Pamlico, Pender, Randolph, Stanly, and                                         0.99


Cherokee, Cumberland, Davidson, Graham, Hyde, Macon,                                                      0.98

       Rutherford, Scotland, and Wilson

Ashe, Bertie, Franklin, Hoke, Lincoln, Montgomery, and Warren                                            0.97

Wayne, Clay, Madison, Sampson, Wake, Lee, and Forsyth                                                      0.96

Caswell, Gates, Mitchell, and Greene                                                                                        0.95

Currituck and Guilford                                                                                                               0.94

Davie and Nash                                                                                                                          0.93

Rowan and Camden                                                                                                                   0.92

Jones                                                                                                                                           0.90

Mecklenburg                                                                                                                               0.89

Lenoir                                                                                                                                          0.88

Columbus                                                                                                                                  0.81"

SECTION 2.  This act becomes effective July 1, 2017, and applies to local option sales taxes collected on or after that date and distributed to counties and cities on or after September 1, 2017.