

SENATE BILL 256: Rockingham Community College BOT.

2021-2022 General Assembly

Committee: Date: June 8, 2022

Introduced by: Sens. Jarvis, Lazzara, Ford Prepared by: Samantha Yarborough

Analysis of: Third Edition Staff Attorney

OVERVIEW: Senate Bill 256 would adjust the appointments to the Rockingham Community College Board of Trustees.

CURRENT LAW: G.S. 115D-12 establishes the local boards of trustees for community colleges. There are thirteen members on each board, including the president of the student body as an ex officio member. The remaining twelve members are appointed as follows:

- Four appointed by the board(s) of education of the local school administrative unit(s) located in the administrative area of the institution.
- Four appointed by the board(s) of commissioners of the county or counties in the administrative area of the institution.
- Four appointed by the Governor.

BILL ANALYSIS: S256 would change the appointments to the board of trustees of Rockingham Community College as follows:

- Two appointed by the board of education.
- Six appointed by the board of county commissioners.
- Four appointed by the General Assembly, as follows:
 - o In 2022 and 2024, and every four years thereafter, the appointments would be made by the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate.
 - In 2023 and 2025, and every four years thereafter, the appointments would be made by the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Current members serving on the board of trustees would serve the remainder of their terms, with appointments made under the amended statute as terms expire or vacancies occur. Vacancies occurring in seats appointed by the Governor would be filled by the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the President Pro Tempore for terms expiring in even-numbered years or the Speaker for terms expiring in odd-numbered years.

EFFECTIVE DATE: S256 would be effective when it becomes law.

Jeffrey Hudson Director



Legislative Analysis Division 919-733-2578