FIRST REGULAR SESSION

SENATE BILL NO. 618

101ST GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY SENATOR BERNSKOETTER.

ADRIANE D. CROUSE, Secretary

AN ACT

To repeal section 104.160, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof one new section relating to the board of trustees of the Missouri department of transportation and highway patrol employees' retirement system.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Section 104.160, RSMo, is repealed and one new section enacted in lieu thereof, to be known as section 104.160, to read as follows:

104.160. The board of trustees shall consist of three 2 members of the state highways and transportation commission elected by the members of the commission. 3 The 4 superintendent of the highway patrol and the director of the department of transportation shall serve as members by 5 virtue of their respective offices, and their successors 6 7 shall succeed them as members of the board of trustees. In 8 addition, one member of the senate appointed by the president pro tem of the senate and one member of the house 9 10 of representatives, appointed by the speaker of the house shall serve as members of the board of trustees. 11 In 12 addition to the appointed legislators, two active employee 13 members of the system shall be elected by a plurality vote of the active employee members of the system, herein 14 15 designated for four-year terms to commence July 1, 1982, and every four years thereafter. One elected member shall be 16 elected from the active employees of the department of 17

2706S.01I

SB 618

18 transportation and one elected member shall be elected from the active employees of the civilian or uniformed highway 19 20 patrol. The terms of the active employee members serving on the board on August 28, 2022, shall continue until June 30, 21 2024. All terms of the active employee members shall be for 22 23 four years after June 30, 2024. In addition to the two active employee members, two retirees of the system shall be 24 25 elected to serve on the board by a plurality vote of the retirees of the system. One retiree shall be elected by the 26 27 retired employees of the transportation department and one retiree shall be elected by the retired employees of the 28 civilian or uniformed highway patrol. The retiree serving 29 on the board on August 28, 2007, shall continue to serve on 30 the board as the representative of the retired employees of 31 the transportation department until June 30, 2010. An 32 election shall be held prior to January 1, 2008, for the 33 retiree to be elected by the retired employees of the 34 civilian or uniformed highway patrol with said term to 35 commence on January 1, 2008, and expire on June 30, 2010. 36 All terms of elected retired employees shall be for four 37 years after June 30, 2010. The board shall determine the 38 39 procedures for nomination and election of the elective board members. Nominations may be entered by any member of the 40 system, provided members of the system have a reasonable 41 42 opportunity to vote.

2

 \checkmark