## SENATE BILL NO. 397

## 101ST GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY SENATOR REHDER.

1596S.03I

ADRIANE D. CROUSE, Secretary

## **AN ACT**

To repeal section 174.453, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof two new sections relating to statewide missions of institutions of higher education.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Section 174.453, RSMo, is repealed and two new

- 2 sections enacted in lieu thereof, to be known as sections
- 3 174.281 and 174.453, to read as follows:
  - 174.281. Southeast Missouri State University is hereby
- designated and shall hereafter be operated as an institution
- 3 with a statewide mission in the visual and performing arts,
- 4 computer science, and cybersecurity.
  - 174.453. 1. Except as provided in section 174.450 and
- 2 in subsection 6 of this section, the board of governors
- 3 shall be appointed as follows:
- 4 (1) Five voting members shall be selected from the
- 5 counties comprising the institution's historic statutory
- 6 service region as described in section 174.010, except that
- 7 no more than two members shall be appointed from any one
- 8 county with a population of less than two hundred thousand
- 9 inhabitants;
- 10 (2) Two voting members shall be selected from any of
- 11 the counties in the state which are outside of the
- 12 institution's historic service region; and
- 13 (3) One nonvoting member who is a student shall be
- 14 selected in the same manner as prescribed in section 174.055.

SB 397

15 2. The term of service of the governors shall be as

- 16 follows:
- 17 (1) The voting members shall be appointed for terms of
- 18 six years; and
- 19 (2) The nonvoting student member shall serve a two-
- year term.
- 21 3. Members of any board of governors selected pursuant
- 22 to this section and in office on May 13, 1999, shall serve
- 23 the remainder of their unexpired terms.
- 4. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection 1 of
- 25 this section, the board of governors of Missouri Southern
- 26 State University shall be appointed as follows:
- 27 (1) Six voting members shall be selected from any of
- 28 the following counties: Barton, Jasper, Newton, McDonald,
- 29 Dade, Lawrence, and Barry provided that no more than three
- 30 of these six members shall be appointed from any one county;
- 31 (2) Two voting members shall be selected from any of
- 32 the counties in the state which are outside of the counties
- 33 articulated in subdivision (1) of this subsection;
- 34 (3) One nonvoting member who is a student shall be
- 35 selected in the same manner as prescribed in section
- 36 174.055; and
- 37 (4) The provisions of subdivisions (1) and (2) of this
- 38 subsection shall only apply to board members first appointed
- 39 after August 28, 2004.
- 40 5. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection 1 of
- 41 this section, the board of governors of Missouri Western
- 42 State University shall be appointed as follows:
- 43 (1) Five voting members shall be selected from any of
- 44 the following counties: Buchanan, Platte, Clinton, Andrew,
- 45 and DeKalb provided that no more than three of these five
- 46 members shall be appointed from any one county;

**SB 397** 

- 47 (2) Two voting members shall be selected from any of
- 48 the counties in the state which are outside of the counties
- 49 articulated in subdivision (1) of this subsection;
- 50 (3) One nonvoting member who is a student shall be
- 51 selected in the same manner as prescribed in section
- 52 174.055; and
- 53 (4) The provisions of subdivisions (1) and (2) of this
- 54 subsection shall only apply to board members first appointed
- 55 after August 28, 2005.
- 6. (1) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection 1
- of this section to the contrary, the board of governors of
- 58 Southeast Missouri State University shall be appointed as
- 59 follows:
- 60 (a) Two voting members shall be selected from any of
- 61 the following counties: Butler, Dunklin, Mississippi, New
- 62 Madrid, Pemiscot, Scott, or Stoddard;
- (b) Two voting members shall be selected from any of
- 64 the following counties: Bollinger, Cape Girardeau, Madison,
- 65 Perry, Ste. Genevieve, or St. Francois;
- 66 (c) Two voting members shall be selected from any of
- 67 the following counties or areas: Franklin, Jefferson,
- 68 Lincoln, St. Charles, St. Louis, St. Louis City, or Warren;
- 69 (d) One voting member shall be selected from one of
- 70 the counties in the state; and
- 71 (e) One nonvoting member who is a student shall be
- 72 selected in the same manner as provided in section 174.055.
- 73 (2) The provisions of paragraphs (a) to (c) of
- 74 subdivision (1) of this subsection shall only apply to board
- 75 members first appointed after August 28, 2021.

1