SENATE BILL NO. 1045

102ND GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY SENATOR MOSLEY.

3113S.01I KRISTINA MARTIN, Secretary

AN ACT

To repeal section 235.140, RSMo, and to enact in lieu thereof one new section relating to the election of board members for street light maintenance districts.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Missouri, as follows:

Section A. Section 235.140, RSMo, is repealed and one new

- 2 section enacted in lieu thereof, to be known as section 235.140,
- 3 to read as follows:
 - 235.140. 1. At the general municipal election in the
- 2 year after the first full calendar year after the
- 3 organization of any district, and biennially at [the]
- 4 general [election] municipal elections thereafter, there
- 5 shall be elected by the voters of the district one member of
- 6 the board to serve for a term of six years. Nominations
- 7 [may] shall be filed with the [secretary of the board]
- 8 election authority for the jurisdiction in which the
- 9 district is located.
- 10 2. The candidates for board member shall be elected on
- 11 a separate nonpartisan ballot. The candidate receiving the
- 12 most votes shall be elected. Any new member of the board
- 13 shall qualify in the same manner as members of the first
- 14 board qualify.
- 15 3. At the first general municipal election to occur
- 16 after August 28, 2025, the elections for the seats of any
- 17 board members elected to a six-year term in 2020 or who have
- 18 been appointed to unexpired terms of members elected to a

EXPLANATION-Matter enclosed in bold-faced brackets [thus] in this bill is not enacted and is intended to be omitted in the law.

SB 1045

- 19 six-year term in 2020, shall be held. At the third general
- 20 municipal election to occur after August 28, 2025, the
- 21 elections for the seats of any board members elected to a
- 22 six-year term in 2022 or who have been appointed to
- 23 unexpired terms of members elected to a six-year term in
- 24 2022, shall be held. At the fifth general municipal
- 25 election to occur after August 28, 2025, the elections for
- 26 the seats of any board members elected to a six-year term in
- 27 2024 or who have been appointed to unexpired terms of
- 28 members elected to a six-year term in 2024 shall be held.

✓