FIRST REGULAR SESSION

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 55

100TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY REPRESENTATIVE MITTEN.

DANA RADEMAN MILLER, Chief Clerk

JOINT RESOLUTION

Submitting to the qualified voters of Missouri an amendment to Article VI of the Constitution of Missouri, by adopting one new section relating to counties.

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring therein:

That at the next general election to be held in the state of Missouri, on Tuesday next

2 following the first Monday in November, 2020, or at a special election to be called by the

3 governor for that purpose, there is hereby submitted to the qualified voters of this state, for

4 adoption or rejection, the following amendment to Article VI of the Constitution of the state of

5 Missouri:

Section A. Article VI, Constitution of Missouri, is amended by adding one new section, 2 to be known as Section 3(a), to read as follows:

Section 3(a). 1. On January 1, 2023, the thirty-one counties listed under subsection
4 of this Section shall consolidate into fourteen counties. Each new, consolidated county
shall have the name of county in its grouping that had the largest population on January
1, 2021.

5 2. On January 1, 2021, the counties shall begin a two-year transition period to 6 effectuate the consolidation. The person duly serving as chief executive of the grouping's 7 most populous county as of January 1, 2019, shall serve as the chief executive of all counties 8 in the grouping until the general election of 2024, at which time the position shall be filled 9 by an official duly elected by the voters of the consolidated county. Such chief executive 10 may employ staff to assist him or her during the transition period so long as each county 11 that is part of the consolidation is represented among the staff.

EXPLANATION — Matter enclosed in bold-faced brackets [thus] in the above bill is not enacted and is intended to be omitted from the law. Matter in **bold-face** type in the above bill is proposed language.

2233H.02I

HJR 55

12 3. All persons duly serving as commissioners as of January 1, 2019, other than the 13 chief executive of the most populous county in a grouping, shall serve until the November 2022 general election, at which time three commissioners shall be duly elected to serve the 14 15 consolidated county. The commissioner who receives the most votes shall serve for six years; the commissioner who receives the second most votes shall serve four years; the 16 commissioner who receives the third most votes shall serve two years; and, upon the end 17 of each of these commissioner's years of service, the office of a commissioner shall be a six-18 year term and filled by a duly elected official. 19 20 4. Each county of the following groupings shall be consolidated with the other 21 counties in its grouping to form one county: 22 (1) Atchison County and Holt County; 23 (2) Barton County and Dade County; 24 (3) Caldwell County and Daviess County; 25 (4) Carroll County and Chariton County; 26 (5) Carter County, Reynolds County, and Shannon County; 27 (6) Clark County and Lewis County; 28 (7) Douglas County and Ozark County; 29 (8) Gentry County, Nodaway County, and Worth County; 30 (9) Harrison County and Mercer County; 31 (10) Hickory County and Saint Clair County; 32 (11) Knox County, Schuyler County, and Scotland County; 33 (12) Maries County and Osage County; 34 (13) Monroe County and Shelby County; and 35 (14) Putnam County and Sullivan County. 1