House Concurrent Resolution No. 9

99TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY REPRESENTATIVE GANNON.

1285H.01I

2	WHEREAS, the Joachim Creek runs through both Jefferson County and St. Francois
2	County in Missouri; and
3 4 5 6	WHEREAS, the Joachim Creek has changed over the course of time and has begun to endanger the health, safety, and welfare of citizens by being prone to frequent flash flood events; and
7	
8 9 10	WHEREAS , it is pertinent that action be taken in order to ensure that citizens located near Joachim Creek have safe housing and a safe environment to work, live, and raise their families; and
11	
12 13 14	WHEREAS, citizens, government agencies, community groups, and businesses need to come together to provide solutions for those afflicted by the Joachim Creek frequent flash flood events; and
15	
16 17 18 19	NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the members of the House of Representatives of the Ninety-ninth General Assembly, First Regular Session, the Senate concurring therein, hereby urge the City of DeSoto and Jefferson County to establish a Joachim Creek Joint Task Force in order to:
20 21	1. Establish an early warning system to alert citizens of the need to evacuate during a flash flood event;
22 23 24	2. Conduct a study to better identify areas that are truly affected by repeated flooding of the Joachim Creek, and to distribute such results to assist in long-term planning in the Jefferson County area;
25 26	3. Determine if an organized property buyout is possible for areas that are truly affected by repeated flooding of the Joachim Creek; and
27 28	4. Identify methods that allow the area to use such flooding as an economic development tool; and

29

30 31	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Task Force may include the following members:
32	1. Traysa Sauer, Committee Member, Concerned Citizens for Flood Relief;
33	2. Susan Liley, Committee Member, Concerned Citizens for Flood Relief;
34	3. Paula Arbuthnot, Committee Member, Concerned Citizens for Flood Relief;
35	4. Elaine Gannon, State Representative, Missouri House of Representatives, District 115;
36	5. Claire McCaskill, Senator, United States Senate, or her designee;
37	6. Roy Blunt, Senator, United States Senate, or his designee;
38 39	7. Jason Smith, Congressman, United States House of Representatives, Missouri's 8th District, or his designee;
40	8. Gary Romine, Senator, Missouri State Senate, District 3;
41	9. Ben Harris, State Representative, Missouri House of Representatives, District 118;
42	10. Ken Waller, County Executive, Jefferson County;
43	11. Warren Robinson, Director, Jefferson County Office of Emergency Management;
44	12. Eric Larson, Director, Code Enforcement Division, Jefferson County;
45	13. David Dews, City Manager, City of DeSoto;
46	14. A representative from the Army Corps of Engineers;
47	15. A representative from the Missouri State Emergency Management Agency;
48	16. A representative from the Federal Emergency Management Agency; and
49	17. A representative from the Jefferson County Office of Economic Development; and
50	
51 52 53	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Task Force may elect a chairperson and other officeholders from within its membership, and may add members to the Task Force by a majority vote; and
54	
55 56 57	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Chief Clerk of the Missouri House of Representatives be instructed to prepare a properly inscribed copy of this resolution for Jefferson County Executive Ken Waller, Senator Claire McCaskill, Senator Roy Blunt, Congressman

2

Administrator of the Federal Emergency Management Agency, and the Commanding Generalof the United States Army Corps of Engineers.

58 Jason Smith, the Director of the Missouri State Emergency Management Agency, the